AASCU Board of Directors Meeting March 27-29 at Southeast


CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., March 25, 2011 — The American Association of State Colleges & Universities’ (AASCU) Board of Directors is meeting on the campus of Southeast Missouri State University March 27-29, with Kenneth W. Dobbins, president of Southeast, serving as chair of the board.  Dr. Muriel A. Howard is president of the national organization, and she and members of the organization’s staff also will attend.

The board of directors is comprised of 16 college and university presidents, chancellors and commissioners from institutions located throughout the United States including Bowie State, Western Washington, Northern Kentucky, California State University-Long Beach, Florida Gulf Coast, Montclair State, Texas A&M University- Corpus Christi, Georgia College & State University, the College of Staten Island (CUNY), University of Massachusetts-Boston, North Carolina Central, the University of Northern Colorado, Utah System of Higher Education, Kentucky State University, and the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh.

AASCU is the leadership association of more than 420 public colleges and universities with common commitments to access, affordability and educational opportunity. AASCU institutions enroll more than 3 million students and fulfill the expectations of a public university by working for the public good through education, stewardship and engagement, thereby improving the lives of people in their communities, region and their state.  Member institutions range in size from 1,000 to 44,000 students and are located in the inner city, in suburbs, towns and cities, and in remote rural America. They include campuses with extensive offerings in law, medicine and doctoral educationᾰas well as campuses offering associate degrees to complement baccalaureate studies.

The board meetings are scheduled in Kem Statuary Hall in the Wehking Alumni Center.  Board members also will attend the Monday evening 7:30 p.m. performance of the Southeast Missouri and Southern Illinois Symphony Orchestras, and David Halen, concertmaster of the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, will be the featured soloist.