Alumni, Faculty to be Honored with Merit Awards



Oct. 12, 2010 – Seven alumni and one faculty member will receive Merit Awards presented by the Southeast Missouri State University Alumni Association Oct. 29 at the Copper Dome Society/Merit Recognition Program during the Homecoming celebration.

Since 1958, Alumni Merit Awards have been presented to southeast graduates who have brought distinction to themselves and the University.

This year’s Alumni Awards recipients are: Michael Lincoln ’84 of Mclean, Va., co-founder of the Reston Office of Cooley LLP; Gloria DuCreux ’77 ’79 of Panama City, Panama, college counselor and co-founder of Balboa Academy; Dan Bussell ’84 of Warwick, N.Y., photojournalist for CBS News’ “60 Minutes”; Donald “Smith” DeLine ’75 of Cape Girardeau, Mo., owner of DeLine and Son Farms and DeLine Realty; Larry Ferrell ’76 of Cape Girardeau, Mo., chief of the Criminal Division of the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Eastern District of Missouri, Southeastern Division; Dr. John Vallentine ’81 of Cedar Falls, Iowa, director of the School of Music and professor of music education at the University of Northern Iowa; and Dr. Greg May ’87 of Santa Fe, N.M., president of the National Center for Genome Resources.

This year’s Faculty Merit Award recipient is Dr. Jim Dufek, professor of mass media at Southeast Missouri State University. The Faculty Merit Award is presented for excellence in teaching.

Dan Bussell

Gloria DuCreux

Michael Lincoln

Dr. Greg May

Donald “Smith” DeLine

Dr. John Vallentine

Larry Ferrell

Dr. Jim Dufek