Arrow Collects 17 Missouri College Media Association Awards


Arrow Awards 2016 fullCAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., April 11, 2016 – The Arrow, the student newspaper of Southeast Missouri State University, won 17 awards at the 2016 Missouri College Media Association (MCMA) Conference April 8-9 hosted on the Southeast campus.

Among the Arrow’s awards were four first-place, four second-place and five third-place finishes, and four honorable mentions.

Topping its awards was a first place finish in the “Campus Engagement/Promotions” category of the advertising division, of which all 33 Missouri schools were eligible to compete. The award recognized student work promoting the Arrow’s Pumpkin Chuckin’ event held Oct. 21 at Southeast. The event, in which contestants competed to see who could throw pumpkins the farthest, was part of the MC429 Media Management class co-taught by Mike Simmons, instructor of mass media, and Dr. Tamara Zellars Buck, associate professor of mass media and faculty advisor to the Arrow.

The Arrow also won second place in the advertising design category of the advertising division.  In addition, Matt Mormann of Fults, Illinois, was elected MCMA secretary for the coming year. Mormann, a Southeast junior mass communication major, multimedia journalism option, currently serves as sports editor of the Arrow.

“We put a lot of effort into putting together a paper every week, and it’s nice to see our hard work pay off,” said Jay Forness, editor of the Arrow. “These awards show we’re doing something right.”

Dr. Karie Hollerbach, chair of the Department of Mass Media, said, “The awards we won this year reflect two important aspects of our program:  the ability to effectively tell the story through a variety of delivery formats including, web and video, and the ability to collaborate with other students across curricular specializations.  Media convergence is happening in both how the story is told and in who works together to tell the story.”

The Arrow competes in Division I of MCMA, which includes student newspapers at Lindenwood University, Missouri State University, Saint Louis University, University of Missouri-Columbia, University of Missouri-Kansas City, University of Missouri-St. Louis, University of Central Missouri and Washington University. The Arrow placed third in sweepstakes for the total number of awards with only the University of Missouri-Columbia and Washington University finishing ahead of it.

“Southeast, in its MCMA Division I classification, competes against some of the biggest schools in Missouri,” Hollerbach said. “Those schools have very well respected mass communication programs that often have more technological, financial and faculty resources at their disposal.  For our weekly newspaper to be able to stand head-to-head with those programs’ newspapers, some of which publish daily, says a great deal about not only the quality of the Arrow as a publication and digital product, but it also speaks volumes about the quality of the academic and professional instruction students are receiving in Southeast’s Department of Mass Media.”

The Arrow was honored with the following 2016 MCMA Awards:

  • First place for Campus Engagement and Promotions, Advertising Division (Staff)
  • First place, Feature Page, Division I (Zarah Laurence and Caitlin Jasper)
  • First place, News Photography, Division I (Jegenaath Giri)
  • First place, Website, Division I (Malana Bradford and Jay Forness)
  • Second place, Best Overall Newspaper, Division I (Staff)
  • Second place, Advertising Design, Advertising Division (Staff)
  • Second place, Information Graphic, Division I (Bridget Bingham)
  • Second place, Multimedia Package, Division I (Staff)
  • Third place, In-Depth News Reporting, Division I (Staff)
  • Third place, Photo Page, Division I (Jegenaath Giri)
  • Third place, Sweepstakes, Division I (Staff)
  • Third place, Special Section or Supplement, Division I (Staff)
  • Third place, Video, Division I (Matt Brucker)
  • Honorable mention, Photo Page, Division I (Tim Eads)
  • Honorable mention, Sports Page, Division I (Nick McNeal)
  • Honorable mention, Sports Page, Division I (Nick McNeal)H
  • Honorable mention, Video, Division I (Malana Bradford, Justin Fischer and Brittany Harry)

More than 150 faculty and students from 22 Missouri colleges and universities registered to attend the 2016 MCMA conference. The event was organized by 2015-2016 Arrow Editor and MCMA President Forness and Zellars Buck.

“I’m extremely proud of the leadership Jay Forness provided in helping to organize the MCMA conference,” Buck said. “Serving as both Arrow editor and MCMA president on the same year was a monumental task, but Jay managed to exceed everyone’s expectations and provided a rich experience to everyone who attended.

“I am, of course, proud of the honors we earned,” she added. “I also am excited to have another student from Southeast representing us as an MCMA officer next year. More importantly,  several faculty advisers from other schools complimented our Arrow staff and student volunteers on their friendliness and attention to detail throughout the conference. Our students went above and beyond by giving and moderating presentations, leading tours, and otherwise ensuring our hosting of this event was a success. I couldn’t be more proud.”

The conference opened with a reception catered by hospitality management students at Catapult, followed by tours of Mississippi River Radio, the Southeast Missourian and KFVS12. The Southeast Missourian hosted a social event at Katie O’Ferrell’s to close out the evening. About 60 students from six schools attended the events.

On Saturday, open session panels were led by professionals from KFVS12, KRCU, Mississippi River Radio, the Southeast Missourian and the Southeast Missouri Press Association. Additionally, participants had the opportunity to attend 20 workshop sessions and roundtable events led by Arrow staffers, Southeast faculty and alumni, and professionals affiliated with local media partners. Student volunteers answered questions and assisted presenters during workshop sessions.

Banquet keynote speaker was KFVS12 veteran reporter and anchor Kathy Sweeney, who addressed the future of journalism.