Brad Bedell Receives Honorary Degree at Southeast’s Spring Commencement


bradbedellCAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., May 11, 2013 – Donald B. “Brad” Bedell, former president and member of the Southeast Missouri State University Board of Regents, received an honorary doctor of laws degree from the University during commencement exercises May 11.

An honorary degree is one of the most prestigious awards presented by Southeast Missouri State University and has only been given to seven individuals in the past. It is awarded for distinguished achievement, accomplishment or service that is recognized by peers in the field and by a broader spectrum of society.

Bedell received a bachelor’s degree with an emphasis in management and a juris doctorate degree from the University of Mississippi. He is president of Maverick Consulting Group, a company he founded that provides general business and financial consulting to various corporations.

Bedell was first appointed to the Southeast Board of Regents for a six-year term by Governor Bob Holden in April 2001. He was reappointed by Governor Matt Blunt to an additional six-year term ending January 1, 2013, and served as president of the Board from 2006 until 2012.

During his service on the Board, Bedell dedicated his time and effort to make certain Southeast continued to offer quality, accredited academic programs while remaining the most affordable of Missouri’s comprehensive regional universities despite unprecedented reductions in state funding.

“Brad has spent countless hours in service to our students, faculty and staff, and the region and the University community has benefited greatly from his dedication,” said Kenneth W. Dobbins, president of Southeast Missouri State University. “During his tenure on the Board, Brad provided the vision and leadership to significantly enhance our University. Among these achievements are record enrollments; construction of the River Campus, Vandiver and Merick residence halls; and the planning for a third new residence hall to be opened in Fall 2013 and a new residence hall/academic space facility to open at the River Campus in Fall 2014. Kent Library Information Commons, David M. Barton Agriculture Research Center, the Autism Center for Diagnosis and Treatment, and The Douglas C. Greene Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship all opened during Brad’s time on the Board. The expansion of our regional campuses, online learning, and a variety of new academic programs and partnerships were accomplished, just to name a few initiatives. On behalf of our students, faculty, staff and alumni, we are extremely pleased to award him an honorary doctor of laws degree as a token of our deep appreciation for his remarkable service to Southeast.”

In addition to serving as a Regent, Bedell and his family have been extremely supportive of the University not only with their time and talents, but he and his father, Don Bedell, were very generous financially to the River Campus and the Donald C. Bedell Performance Hall was named after Brad’s father. Additionally, Bedell has been a member of the Southeast Missouri University Foundation Board; has established the Don C. Bedell Excellence Award through the Foundation to assist business majors at Southeast in honor of his father; and is a member of the Top 20 Club for Southeast Men’s Basketball, the Dug Out Club, and the University Foundation President’s Council.

Bedell is immediate past president of the Missouri Health Care Association, where he served three previous terms as president and was its 2000-2001 Member of the Year. He has also served as a board member for the American Health Care Association where he currently serves as a regional PAC chair. Additionally, he has served as a member of the board of directors for the YMCA of Southeast Missouri. He belongs to the St. Louis chapter of the Young Presidents Organization (YPO), an international organization of corporate presidents who strive to become better presidents by learning from each other. Bedell serves as Missouri chairperson for All Children Matter and is on the board of directors of the St. Louis Metropolitan Police Athletic League.