Department of Health, Human Performance and Recreation Announces Award, Scholarship Recipients


The Department of Health, Human Performance, and Recreation at Southeast Missouri State University announced Major of the Year award recipients at its recent awards gathering.

The students recognized as Major of the Year were:

Athletic Training: Amanda Wilson of Lagrange, Ill.; Health Promotion – Kay Ehlke of Casey, Ill.; Exercise Science – Monica Ruppert of Coulterville, Ill.; Physical Education – Kimberly Krieger of Beaufort, Mo.; Recreation – Jon Lowrance of Cape Girardeau, Mo.; and Sport Management – Eric Wittenauer of St. Louis.

Recognized as graduate student of the year was Laura VanHoevelaak, a student in Nutrition and Exercise Science from Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.

The department offers majors in health management with options in athletic training, health promotion, and exercise science, physical education, recreation, and sport management.

Scholarship recipients were also recognized at the event. Jason Therrell of Festus, Mo., was recognized for being awarded both the Billie O’Neal and Lee Park Scholarships. Therrell is a physical education major. Recipients of the Health Management Scholarships were Takuro Yamada of Koshigaya Saitama, Japan, Julia Hanson of Carol Stream, Ill., and J.B. Price of Arcadia, Mo.