Dobbins Serves on Faculty at AASCU New President’s Academy


Photo of Kenneth Dobbins

Kenneth W. Dobbins, president of Southeast Missouri University, taught at the New President’s Academy offered by the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) July 31-Aug. 4 in San Diego, Calif.


Sept. 14, 2007 – Kenneth W. Dobbins, president of Southeast Missouri University, taught at the New President’s Academy offered by the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) July 31-Aug. 4 in San Diego, Calif. This was Dobbins’s third year to teach in the Academy, and he has been invited to teach at the Academy again next year.

The New Presidents’ Academy is a special leadership opportunity designed for new presidents and chancellors at AASCU colleges and universities who have assumed their presidencies within the past two years. The Academy assists new college and university presidents in establishing a strong presidential base and provides participants with the know-how and tools to forge a solid presidency. The intensive, highly focused program offers new presidents an array of topics and experiences. The focus is on the first 500 days of their presidency, developing and enhancing new presidents’ skills to carry them through their presidential career.

Fourteen new presidents and chancellors attended the academy, during which Dobbins led sessions on enrollment management, financial management, facilities management, including campus mater plan issues, maintenance and repair and project management, and pitfalls to successful presidencies, including discretionary spending, conflicts of interest, and athletics.

Other instructors at the Academy this year were Dr. John Moore, president emeritus of Indiana State University; Dr. David Carter, chancellor of the Connecticut State University System; Dr. Jolene Koester, president of California State University-Northridge; and Dr. Patricia Cormier, president of Longwood University. 

Dobbins became the 17th president of Southeast Missouri State University in July 1999 after serving various positions in higher education administration both at Kent State University and Southeast. Dobbins joined Southeast in 1991 as vice president for finance and administration and served as executive vice president from July 1993 until his appointment as president. From 1981 until 1991, Dobbins held several positions at Kent State, serving as assistant director of financial affairs, assistant treasurer and bursar, registrar, director of university auditing, and adjunct assistant professor of higher education administration.

Moore is president emeritus and distinguished trustee professor of Indiana State University, and served as the founding chair of the ISU Alliance for Servant-Leadership. He formerly served as president of Indiana State University, the ISU Foundation, and president of California State University-Stanislaus. Moore also previously served in senior level positions at Old Dominion University, as executive vice president and the University of Vermont as associate vice president of academic affairs. Moore has been an active faculty member at the University of Vermont, Old Dominion University and California State University. He has over 40 years of experience as a faculty member, administrator and consultant in higher education.

Carter has served as the chancellor of the Connecticut State University System since February 2006. He is responsible for seeing that policies, directives and decisions of the Board of Trustees are carried forward. He also is responsible for providing oversight for the management and operations of the Connecticut State University System. This System consists of four universities, which are Central Connecticut State University in New Britain, Eastern Connecticut State University in Willimantic, Southern Connecticut State University in New Haven and Western Connecticut State University in Danbury. Before becoming chancellor, Carter was appointed as the fifth president of Eastern Connecticut State University in April 1988. He previously had been the associate vice president for academic affairs, associate dean in the School of Education and professor of educational administration at the University of Connecticut during an 11-year period. Carter was an associate professor in the College of Education at Pennsylvania State University for four years before he joined the University of Connecticut. Finally, before his career in higher education, he was an elementary school teacher, vice principal, principal and unit facilitator responsible for overseeing more than 20,000 elementary, middle and high school students in 24 Ohio schools.

Koester became the fourth president of California State University-Northridge on July 1, 2000. She previously had served as provost and vice president for academic affairs at California State University-Sacramento. Koester held other executive positions in the academic affairs division of Sacramento State prior to being provost, and she was a professor of communication studies since 1980. Koester has taught at the Academy for seven years now.

Cormier has served as president of Longwood University since 1996. She worked as the chief academic officer at Winthrop University starting in 1993. Prior to this, Cormier spent 12 years at the University of Pennsylvania as an associate professor and associate dean of academic affairs. She was vice president and dean of the college at Wilson College from 1984-1988. She also was vice president for development and alumni relations at the Medical College of Pennsylvania in 1989. Cormier has taught at the Academy for five years.