Economic Growth Society of India, Finance Ministry Honor Dahiya with Lifetime Achievement Award


Photo of Dr. Jai Dahiya

CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., Feb. 21, 2011 – Dr. Jai Dahiya, associate dean of the College of Science and Mathematics and professor of physics at Southeast Missouri State University, recently was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award by the Economic Growth Society of India through the Finance Ministry of India. Dahiya received the award on Dec. 26 along with a $400 cash prize at the Economic Growth Society of India’s annual national seminar in New Delhi, India.

Dahiya, who delivered a paper at the 98th Indian Science Congress conference in Chennai on “Quantum Dot Nanoparticles in Bio-Medical Applications,” said he has been invited to present papers at this conference the past 11 years continuously.

The Finance Ministry of India honored Dahiya for his longstanding membership in the Indian Science Congress and for his active participation as a member of the Executive Committee of eight engineering colleges and institutes of technology in and around Delhi; the Executive Committee of Delhi University-South Campus; the Executive Committee of Saini Mohalla Bijwasan in New Delhi; the Executive Committee of Jat Uthan Sabha, Vasant Vihar in New Delhi; Suraj Mal Institute in Delhi; and the Sir Chotu Ram Vikas Committee. Dahiya has also served as the external member from the United States on eight doctoral dissertation committees. He is also the member of the Technical Committee of International Symposium of Microwave and Optical Technology and Editor of International Journal of Microwave and Optical Technology.

Winning the award, Dahiya said, “was the biggest surprise of my life. It gave me a boost that a country like India recognized me.”

As the recipient of the award, Dahiya was invited to speak at the Jat Uthan Sabha conference on Jan. 16 in New Delhi. The theme of the conference was “Contributions of JATS in National Building.”

Dahiya is a 2001 recipient of the Southeast Missouri State University Faculty Merit Award and the Governor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. He has received the PRIDE Award from the Southeast College of Science and Mathematics in 2000, 2003 and 2009. He is a four-time recipient of the research award from the College of Science and Mathematics. He was the 2002 recipient of the Outstanding Alumnus Award from the University of North Texas.