Employee Recognition Awards Presented


The University’s Employee Recognition Awards were presented at the Holiday Luncheon Nov. 26 in the University Center.

Employee of the Year Award

EVT-EmployeeAppreciationThe Employee of the Year Award was presented to Archie Sprengel, assistant vice president for Information Technology (IT). Sprengel was recognized for the integral role he has played in advancing technology upgrades and improvements on the Southeast campus.

The Employee of the Year Award recognizes an individual that has done the extraordinary for the benefit of the University community and the academic family.

Sprengel “consistently, efficiently and economically works with the faculty, staff, students, contractors and vendors to ensure that this campus has communication and information technology of the highest caliber,” said Dr. Ken Dobbins, president of Southeast Missouri State University.

He lauded Sprengel for advancing the latest technologies on campus, ensuring the security of the University’s networks and for leading at the state level where he serves on the MOREnet State Board.

“Archie has played an integral role in the improvements, upgrades and transitions of University Information Technology over the years. His guidance and patience and his calm demeanor have made a world of difference when people have been forced to change their processes and learn new technology,” Dobbins said. “Archie leads by example and has never asked a staff member to do anything he’s not willing to do himself.”

Team Award

Dobbins and Tech TeamThe award for University teamwork was presented to the Information Technology Ellucian Recruiter Implementation Team, including Heidi Zhong, Josh Waller, Mark Blaylock, Martha Henckell and Dave Wilde. Ellucian Recruiter is a customer relationship management tool used to effectively communicate with prospective students and provide an organized database of prospective students for internal use.

The Office of Admissions nominated the team for the award, noting their persistent work in making the software implementation successful and for their continued support of the system.

Director of Admissions Lenell Hahn wrote in her letter of nomination, “Our past enrollments and future enrollments are always attributed to everyone’s teamwork at Southeast. The IT staff knows the meaning of teamwork and is always eager and willing to take on new projects to improve processes for our students, faculty and staff.”

Dobbins added, “These IT team members understood the value of recruiting students to the University and their role in assisting the Office of Admissions in doing so through product implementation.”

Bargaining Unit Employee Recognition Award

EVT-EmployeeAppreciationThe Bargaining Unit Employee Recognition Award was presented to Mark Masters, warehouse journeyman in the Department of Facilities Management. Angela Mitchell, Facilities Management assistant director, nominated Masters for the award. In her nomination, she wrote that Masters ensures that he secures the parts and materials the department needs to maintain all the University buildings and infrastructure.

“Mark works tirelessly and maintains a wonderful, positive attitude while still keeping the department within budget and following proper procedures and purchasing guidelines,” Dobbins said.

Clerical-Technical-Service (CTS) Employee Recognition Award

EVT-EmployeeAppreciationThe Clerical-Technical-Service (CTS) Employee Recognition Award was presented to Joy Burnette, operations supervisor at the University School for Young Children. Burnette was nominated by Becky Moore, site director at the School.

“Joy is one of the main foundations of the school,” Dobbins said in reading from the nomination, adding she is responsible for scheduling, grocery shopping and meal planning at the School. “Joy is a true example of a team player and an exceptional asset to the University.”


Administrative/Professional Staff Award

EVT-EmployeeAppreciationThe Administrative/Professional Staff Award was presented to Jim Barbatti, assistant director of the Show Me Center. Will Gorman, director of the Show Me Center, nominated Barbatti for his “professionalism, insurmountable dedication and extensive operational knowledge,” Dobbins said.

“During the past 15 months, Jim has successfully guided the Show Me Center through 271 events and more than 250,000 customers, using innovative planning and attention to detail,” Dobbins said.

He noted that Barbatti works long hours, added Houck Stadium concessions to his responsibilities and has contributed to the success of numerous events, including the annual Welcome Back picnic and commencement ceremonies.

“We are proud of Jim’s efforts and he has contributed to Southeast’s outstanding success in event production,” Dobbins said.


Individual award winners received an engraved plaque and a $500 gift certificate good for either Chartwells Redbucks or merchandise in the Southeast Bookstore, or a combination of both. In addition, their photographs will be displayed on the staff recognition wall on the third floor of the University Center. Team recipients received a team photo, an individual certificate, a luncheon at Wildwood with President Ken and Mrs. Jeanine Larson Dobbins, and a team photograph to be displayed on the staff recognition wall.


Sprengel, the Employee of the Year, received these same prizes and recognitions, in addition to a designated parking space for one year.  This parking space will be the closest available space to Sprengel’s office and will be designated with appropriate signage.