First Green Office Award Presented


Dr. Chris McGowan congratulating Jean Miller as the College of Science and Mathematics Advising Office received the University's first "Green Office Award.

Dr. Chris McGowan, right, dean of the College of Science and Mathematics, congratulates Jean Miller, left, advising coordinator for the College of Science and Mathematics, as the College Advising Office received the University’s first “Green Office Award.”


May 5, 2010 – The College of Science and Mathematics Advising Office is the first office at Southeast Missouri State University to receive the Green Office Award.

The office was recognized Tuesday by the University’s Sustainability Committee for its efforts, receiving the “Gold Office” designation.

The Green Office program is an initiative being piloted this semester in Southeast’s College of Science and Mathematics. The goal is to take the program campus-wide beginning in fall 2010.

Under the pilot program, administrative assistants in the College of Science and Mathematics developed a “Green Office Checklist.” Offices accomplishing 20 of the goals are recognized as a “Gold Office.” Those accomplishing 15 of the goals will be designated as a “Silver Office” and those completing 10 will be deemed a “Bronze Office.”

The checklist calls for offices to: recycle paper, aluminum cans and plastic bottles; buy and use recycled and recyclable products; use refillable pens and tape dispensers; purchase a battery charger and use rechargeable batteries when possible; keep mailing lists up-to-date, striving to avoid duplicates; encourage staff to edit documents on-screen when possible to avoid printing multiple drafts; print documents double-sided; and reduce text size when copying in order to use less paper.

Other items on the checklist include establishing a “used goods area” within an office for necessary items such as padded envelopes and folders; turning off lights when leaving the room; turning off computers, printers and other electric appliances when they are not in use; using refillable water bottles; refilling or recycling empty toner cartridges; monitoring copy machine use within offices; using websites or CDs to distribute information; and using ceramic coffee mugs and flatware instead of buying Styrofoam cups and plastic utensils.  

The checklists also calls for offices to use an e-mail signature encouraging the recipient of their e-mails not to print the message, if possible; borrow University resources, such as library materials, rather than making more copies; contact other offices seeking used items rather than purchasing new ones; unplug equipment not being used on weekends, breaks and holidays; and reduce the amount of junk mail and multiple catalogs delivered to offices.  

The Sustainability Committee was formed last year by Southeast President Kenneth W. Dobbins to look for ways for the University to become more efficient.  The Committee is chaired by Dr. Chris McGowan, dean of the College of Science and Mathematics, and co-chaired by Angela Meyer, director of Facilities Management.

“The Committee is looking for ways to decrease energy uses and to lessen the impact on the environment,” McGowan said. “The Green Office initiative is designed to create awareness about the normal day-to-day operations of the University. The Green Office Award recognizes those offices that are doing the little things to make Planet Earth a better place to live.”