Five Students Named First Recipients of ACES Scholarship



Aug. 3, 2006 – Five soon-to-be Southeast Missouri State University freshmen are the first recipients of the Accelerated College Education Students (ACES) Scholarship for the 2006-2007 academic year.

The recipients are Shatrasha Stone of Malden, Mo., Nolan Lewer of Sikeston, Mo., Christina Carwile of Dexter, Mo., Kristy Blue of Chaffee, Mo., and Tyler Grantham of Jackson, Mo.

The scholarship, which is being awarded for the first time, is given to students who complete a specified number of credit hours of Southeast Missouri State University Early College Credit while they are still in high school and complete the coursework with a cumulative University grade point average of at least 3.5.

The ACES Scholarship is a renewable scholarship of $2,000 per year. The scholarship is designed to encourage student participation in Early College Credit, which encompasses three areas: dual credit, dual enrollment and advanced placement.

Dual Credit courses are taught by approved high school faculty [or University faculty]to high school students on the high school campus.  Students receive both high school and college credit for completion of these courses.

Dual Enrollment courses are taught by University faculty to high school students on the college campus or via electronic media.  Students receive University credit for completion of these courses, but not necessarily high school credit.

Advanced Placement courses are developed by the College Board Advanced Placement Program and taught by high school faculty to high school students on the high school campus.  Students receive academic credit or advanced placement at colleges and universities through performance on a nationally normed examination offered through the Educational Testing Service.  Academic credit is normally granted to students who perform at the level of 3 or higher on a 5-point scale.