Forbes Drafted in Sixth Round by Cleveland Browns


Southeast Missouri offensive tackle Drew Forbes was selected in the sixth round of the 2019 National Football League Draft Saturday. The Cleveland Browns drafted Forbes as the 189th overall pick, the Redhawks second-highest draft pick in school history.

SEMO had a player drafted for the second year in a row, marking the first time since 2003 (Willie Ponder, New York Giants) and 2004 (Eugene Amano, Tennessee Titans) that the Redhawks had a player drafted in back-to-back years.

Forbes is SEMO’s 15th draft pick all-time and follows former teammate Kendall Donnerson who was selected by the Green Bay Packers in the seventh round of last year’s draft. His 40-yard dash time of 4.87 seconds at SEMO’s pro day was faster than any offensive linemen times at this year’s combine.

Forbes helped SEMO to its second-ever Football Championship Subdivision Playoff berth as it ranked 12th nationally in scoring offense (37.1 points/game); that mark shattered the school record for points/game in a season (previously 34.7 by the 2002 team) and was an improvement of 16.6 points/game over a season ago.

He helped block for Ohio Valley Conference Offensive Player of the Year Marquis Terry who ran for 1,229 yards and 14 touchdowns despite missing parts of four games. Forbes helped protect transfer quarterback Daniel Santacaterina who passed for 28 touchdowns (eighth-most in OVC single-season history) and 2,844 yards.

Forbes played in every game and started three seasons at SEMO. He ended his college career with a streak of 35-consecutive starts.

A First-Team All-OVC selection, Forbes was named to the Walter Camp, STATS, Phil Steele, Associated Press, HERO Sports and Athlon Sports All-America teams following his senior campaign.

Forbes visited seven different NFL teams ahead of the draft, including the San Francisco 49ers, Minnesota Vikings, Atlanta Falcons, Green Bay Packers, Cleveland Browns, New York Jets and a team wishing not to be named.

Southeast Missouri NFL Draft Picks
1955 – Ken Dement, T (25th round, 296th pick), New York Giants
1958 – John Wittenborn, G (17th round, 203rd pick), San Francisco 49ers; John Harbour, T (23rd round, 266th pick), Chicago Cardinals
1972 – Eddie Moss, RB (13th round, 313th pick), Buffalo Bills
1973 – Dan Peiffer, C (14th round, 346th pick), St. Louis Cardinals
1974 – David Means, DE (12th round, 303rd pick), Buffalo Bills
1978 – Mike Wood, K (8th round, 204th pick), Minnesota Vikings
1980 – Kent Davis, DB (9th round, 231st pick), Buffalo Bills
1989 – Rick Aeilts, TE (8th round, 214th pick), Cleveland Browns
1990 – Tony Walker, LB (6th round, 148th pick), Indianapolis Colts
1998 – Angel Rubio, DE (7th round, 221st pick), Pittsburgh Steelers
2003 – Willie Ponder, WR (6th round, 199th pick), New York Giants
2004 – Eugene Amano, C (7th round, 239th pick), Tennessee Titans
2018 – Kendall Donnerson, LB (7th round, 248th pick), Green Bay Packers
2019 – Drew Forbes, OL (6th round, 189th pick), Cleveland Browns