Hart to Receive 2004 Pride Award


Hart to be honored with Governor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching


Nov. 19, 2004 – Dr. A. Louise Hart, professor of nursing and chair of the Department of Nursing at Southeast Missouri State University, will receive the PRIDE Award during commencement exercises at 2 p.m. Dec. 18 in the Show Me Center.

The PRIDE Award recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence as a teacher, an extraordinary level of scholarship and service, and whose overall accomplishments are especially noteworthy. Hart was selected for the award by the Council of Deans after nominations were solicited from each of the University’s colleges and schools.

“Teaching the science and art of the nursing profession has been an exciting experience,” Hart says. “Working with students challenges an individual to always continue to learn. Seeing the ‘light of understanding’ come into a student’s eyes, makes all the energy and work worthwhile. Teaching nursing students and seeing them develop into educated, skilled, caring professionals has been a privilege.”

Dr. Loretta Prater, dean of the College of Health and Human Services, says, “Dr. Hart has established an exemplary record during her 10 years of service to the University. Her accomplished record of leadership, scholarship and service is amazing. Dr. Hart is extremely dedicated to her profession. Her successful and tireless efforts have resulted in tremendously positive outcomes for students, faculty, the University and the community.”

In addition to receiving the PRIDE Award, Hart will serve as the grand marshal at commencement exercises Dec. 18 and will present the address at the Honors Convocation, scheduled for 10:30 a.m. Dec. 18, also in the Show Me Center. 

She will also be honored with the Governor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching at a luncheon Dec. 1 in Columbia, Mo. Recipients of the Governor’s Award are selected by their respective institutions for their effective teaching and advising, service to the school community, commitment to high standards of excellence and innovation in course design and delivery.

Hart says she plans on using the PRIDE Award stipend to establish a scholarship honoring her parents, James and Esther Ray Lee, who were raised in Mississippi County in the Missouri Bootheel. Hart’s mother was a graduate of Southeast with an associate degree in education.

This is the ninth year Southeast has presented the PRIDE Award. Past recipients are Dr. Allen Gathman, professor of biology; Dr. Athula Kulatunga, former associate professor of energy and electronics; Dr. Frederick Yeo, associate professor of middle and secondary education; Dr. William Snell Jr., professor of psychology; Dr. Janet Weber, professor of nursing; Dr. David Ritter, associate professor of chemistry; Dr. Jack Sterrett, professor of marketing and chair of the Department of Marketing; and Dr. Bruce Domazlicky, professor of economics.

Hart came to Southeast in 1995 and will retire in May 2005. At Southeast, she has served as vice moderator and secretary of the Chairperson’s Forum, and as a member of the Planning Committee and Johnson Faculty Centre Board of Directors.

She is a member of the University Foundation’s Copper Dome Society. Her commitment to nursing and nursing education has won her numerous awards over the years. She was awarded post-professorial merit by the University in 2003. She is the recipient of the 2001 Distinguished Alumni Award from the Indiana University School of Nursing Alumni Association and The Citation of Merit Award as an “Outstanding Alumna” from the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Nursing. She was named Executive of the Year in 2003 by the Girardot Chapter of the International Association of Administrative Professionals.

For the past 24 years, Hart has had extensive involvement in the American Nurses Association (ANA), having held numerous leadership positions. She has served as second vice president and director-at-large of the ANA, a member-at-large of ANA’s Constituent Assembly Executive Committee and on the board of directors of ANA’s American Nurses Credentialing Center.

Hart also has been active with the Missouri Nurses Association (MONA). She is currently serving on the board of directors of  MONA, treasurer of MONA District 8, and an ANA delegate to the House of Delegates.  

HART is a peer reviewer for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Bureau of Health Professions Advanced Education Nursing Grants Program and has served as a reviewer and editorial advisory board member for the American Journal of Nursing. She was a founding member of Nursing 2020 Southeastern Missouri, an organization whose mission is recruitment into nursing of regional students.

Prior to her tenure at Southeast, Hart was dean of and a professor in Clarkson College’s Nursing Programs, Omaha, Neb., and director of DePauw University School of Nursing, Indianapolis, Ind.

Hart has been responsible for securing a number of major federal earmarks and grants during her tenure at Southeast, including a $718,899 grant from the Department of Health and Human Services for the Southeast Missouri Master of Science in Nursing Program, and a $346,525 federal earmark to provide RN to BSN education in the Bootheel region.  In addition to her grant work she has published, she has given numerous presentations throughout her career.

She holds a doctoral degree in nursing from the Indiana University School of Nursing; two master of science in nursing degrees, one in nursing administration and another in nursing of adults with biodissonance, both from Indiana University School of Nursing. She earned a bachelor of science in nursing from the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Nursing.