Living in the World of Zoom: IT Provides News, Updates

0
Share

If you are using Zoom and you haven’t already, it’s time to update to Zoom 5.0. After May 30, all Zoom clients on older versions will receive a forced upgrade when trying to join meetings. The deadline date is to ensure all Zoom users will have security enhancements and additional features that have been added to Zoom.

Security Enhancements
To ensure privacy, Zoom will require passwords for meetings and webinars, including previously scheduled events. In addition, Zoom will enable a waiting room by default when using your Personal Meeting ID. If you have been utilizing a Basic (free) account instead of a Pro account, screen sharing will be limited to ‘Host only’ by default.

Passwords will now be required for Personal Meeting ID use, when scheduling new meetings, for instant meetings, for participants joining by phone, and for Zoom Room meetings. Passwords can be generated by the host or randomly generated. These changes are being made to prevent unwanted participants from joining your meeting.

If you do not currently have passwords set for your existing meetings, it is recommended that you delete existing meetings and reschedule the meeting. When you re-send your invitation to your participants, your meeting password, by default, will have the password automatically embedded in your meeting link. If the participants access the meeting using the link, they will NOT be prompted to enter a password when joining.

Waiting Room
By default, a waiting room will be enabled for all Personal Meeting rooms (when you have created and use a personalized meeting room number). With a waiting room, the host can control who enters the Zoom meeting individually or can release all participants all at once. This prevents entry by those that have access to a shared meeting link without your permission.

For more security information, visit Zoom’s Frequently Asked Questions.

Security Controls Menu
Security controls are now grouped together and can be found on the host meeting menu bar. These controls allow the host to enable or disable the ability for participants to Screen share, Rename themselves, and Chat. Other host options include reporting a user, enabling a waiting room after the meeting is already in progress, lock a meeting after everyone has arrived, and remove participants. Read additional meeting safeguards at https://zoom.us/docs/en-us/zoom-v5-0.html.

Zoom has taken these measure to improve upon security efforts and your Zoom experience. If you have any questions, contact the IT Help Desk at (573) 651-4357.

Share