Mary V. Moore Johnson Endowed Scholarship Established in Business Law


Missouri Supreme CourtCAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., March 5, 2014 – The Mary V. Moore Johnson Endowed Scholarship has been established through the Southeast Missouri University Foundation. A scholarship has been established in honor of Dr. Mary V. Moore Johnson of Jackson, Mo., upon her retirement from teaching in the Harrison College of Business at Southeast Missouri State University.

The scholarship was established by a $10,000 gift from Moore Johnson’s mother, Leona O. Moore, and Moore Johnson’s husband, Gary Johnson, associate dean of the Donald L. Harrison College of Business. Their gift will be matched with an additional $10,000 through a University gift program.The matching gift program is part of the Honoring Tradition – Inspiring Success Comprehensive Campaign through the Southeast Missouri University Foundation. This program allows donors to make a minimum commitment of $5,000 to a maximum commitment of $10,000 through donation or pledge by March 1, 2014, that will qualify for a $1-for-$1 match. The goal of the Campaign is to raise $40 million for student scholarships, academic programs and renovations that benefit students both today and tomorrow.

The renewable Mary V. Moore Johnson will be awarded to a student with a minimum 3.0 GPA who is currently enrolled at the University and who has declared a minor in business law with the required core of nine hours completed. The recipient must have completed at least 45 hours and be a U.S. citizen. Preference is given for a student who has declared a major in any business discipline offered through the Donald L. Harrison College of Business. First preference is for a student who is actively involved in the Jane Stephens Honors program and living in Missouri. The University Scholarship Committee will select the recipient.Mary V. Moore Johnson was a professor of business law at Southeast Missouri State University.

In 2007, she was named the Educator of the Year by the Cape Girardeau Area Chamber of Commerce. She received a governor’s appointment to the Missouri Training and Employment Council (MTEC) in 2004, serving a four-year term. She chaired MTEC’s Strategic Planning Committee and served as a member of the Executive Council and a member of the Education Committee. She has been a visiting professor of law in China and Denmark, and most recently at the University of Montevideo School of Law in Uruguay. In 2009, she achieved post-professorial merit, the highest rank granted by the University. Graduating in the top 10 percent of her class, she received her juris doctor from Washburn University School of Law in Topeka, Kan., where she served as technical editor of the Washburn Law Journal and student staff editor for the ABA Family Law Journal. She is licensed to practice law in the state of Missouri, and is a member of both the Bar of the Supreme Court of the United States and The Missouri Bar. She holds a Master of Business Administration with an emphasis in finance from Missouri State University in Springfield, Mo. She obtained her Bachelor of Arts from California State University, San Diego.

She has published numerous articles in the areas of law and business in a variety of national and international journals. She is the author of a book entitled “Limited Liability Companies: Legal Research Guide.” She was appointed the first Fellow for the Supreme Court of Missouri in August 2010, and is currently serving a four-year term on the Court’s Civic Education Committee. She retired from the University on Feb. 1, 2014.

For additional information on the matching gift program, please contact the Southeast Missouri University Foundation at (573) 651-2203 or