Media Advisory: S.E. Named Small Business Advocate


WHAT:Southeast Missouri State University will be presented with the Small Business Advocate of the Year Award at the 2008 Legislative Breakfast at Southeastern Illinois College.

WHEN:8:30 a.m. June 17

WHERE:Southeastern Illinois CollegeVisual and Performing Arts CenterHarrisburg, Ill.


  • Kenneth W. Dobbins, president of Southeast Missouri State University, will accept the award.
  • Dr. Raymond Cummiskey, fifth president of Southeastern Illinois College
  • Lori, Cox, director of the Workforce & Illinois Small Business Development Center at Southeastern Illinois College

BACKGROUND:Southeast is receiving the Small Business Advocate of the Year Award for an entrepreneurial partnership it forged with Southeastern Illinois College to bring small business training to counties served by Southeastern Illinois College’s Workforce & Small Business Development Center. The Delta Regional Authority awarded grant funding to Southeast to provide small business training and start-up funding to new small businesses that arise or expand because of the training.  The grant allows Southeast Missouri State University’s Innovation Center to provide small business training in other Delta Regional Authority counties throughout the Mississippi Delta.