Merit Awards to Honor Alumni, Faculty



Oct. 10, 2008 – Eight alumni and one faculty member will receive Merit Awards presented by the Southeast Missouri State University Alumni Association Oct. 24 at the Copper Dome Society/Merit Recognition Program during Homecoming Festivities.

Since 1958, Alumni Merit Awards have been presented to Southeast graduates who have brought distinction to themselves and to the University. 

This year’s Alumni Merit Award recipients are:  Judith Arnet ’70 of Columbia, Mo., clinical nutrition manager at Boone Hospital Center; Roberta Broeker ’80 of Jefferson City, Mo., chief financial officer of the Missouri Department of Transportation; Dr. Stephen Hefner ’70 of Columbia S.C., superintendent of Richland County School District Two; Lawrence R. Kem ’56 of Pine Hurst N.C., retired business executive; Jane (Cooper) Stacy ’72 of Cape Girardeau, Mo., retired director of alumni services and current director of development for special projects for Southeast; John Ueleke ’68 of Memphis, Tenn., president of Legacy Wealth Management; Dr. Stephen Vaughn ’68 of Madison, Wis., professor in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Wisconsin; and Dr. Vance Watson ’64 of Starkville, Miss., interim president at Mississippi State University.

The Faculty Merit Award is presented for excellence in teaching.

This year’s Faculty Merit Award recipient is Dr. Allen Gathman of Pocahontas, Mo., professor of biology at Southeast Missouri State University.


Judith Arnet



Roberta Broeker


Lawrence R. Kem



Dr. Stephen Hefner



Jane Stacy



John Ueleke



Dr. Stephen Vaughn



Dr. Vance Watson



Dr. Allen Gathman