Nominations Open for Provost’s Awards for Teaching Excellence


A call for nominations and applications is now open for the 2018 Provost’s Awards for Teaching Excellence. Information and submission materials are available on the Provost’s website at  The submission deadline is March 2.

 What are the Provost’s Awards for Teaching Excellence?

The Provost’s Awards for Teaching Excellence recognize faculty who have demonstrated a commitment to exceptional teaching and student success. Ten awards are available each year, across a range of categories. In 2018, the following awards are available:

  1. Excellence in online teaching and learning
  2. Excellence in the use of open educational resources (OER)
  3. Excellence in the assessment of student learning
  4. Excellence in supporting undergraduate research
  5. Excellence in the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL)
  6. Excellence in teaching UI100
  7. Excellence in teaching University Studies
  8. Excellence in supporting Learning Communities
  9. Excellence in supporting freshmen retention
  10. Excellence in experiential or engaged learning

Who can receive an award?

Any faculty member (full-time or adjunct) is eligible to be nominated (i.e. by another colleague) OR to apply directly for these awards.

What is the award criteria?

The applications/nominations will be evaluated against the following criteria:

  • The applicant’s/nominee’s fit for the chosen award/s based on the letter of support
  • The applicant’s/nominee’s fit for the chosen award/s based on their supervisor’s endorsement

What is the process for applying or nominating a colleague?

The call for applications and nominations is now open. Please use the Teaching Awards Cover Sheet to apply for an award, or to nominate a colleague. Applications must be accompanied by a letter of support by the nominator or applicant. In addition to the letter of support, the evaluation team will contact the nominee’s/applicant’s supervisor for a verbal or written endorsement.

What is the deadline?

Please send applications as an email attachment to by March 2.

How will the award recipients be honored?

The recipients of each award will be announced during the Spring 2018 semester. The award recipients will receive:

  • A framed award certificate
  • Photo with the Provost
  • Showcase on the Provost’s website
  • News release

Do these awards replace the Provost’s PRIDE Award?

No. The Provost’s Awards for Teaching Excellence are awarded in addition to the annual Provost’s PRIDE award. 

Who do I contact if I have questions?

For an informal conversation about the Provost’s Awards for Teaching Excellence, please contact Bethany Alden-Rivers, associate provost), at