Painton Receives 2008 Phi Kappa Phi Award of Excellence


Photo of Michael Painton

Michael Painton of Oran, Mo., has received an Award of Excellence from The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi for the 2008-2009 academic year.


May 13, 2008 – A May graduate of Southeast Missouri State University recently received an Award of Excellence from The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi for the 2008-2009 academic year.

The Award of Excellence issued April 15 will enable Michael Painton of Oran, Mo., to pursue a master’s degree in landscape architecture. Painton, who just completed his senior year at Southeast, will pursue his master’s degree at Ball State University. He is the son of Don and Rhonda Painton of Oran, Mo., and the grandson of Bob and Sandra Michael of Commerce, Mo., and Shirley Painton of Painton, Mo.

This honor counts Painton among 100 students nationwide to receive the Phi Kappa Phi Fellowship and Award of Excellence. Since its creation in 1932, the Fellowship Program has become one of the Society’s most visible and financially well-supported endeavors, allocating nearly $380,000 annually to deserving students for first-year graduate study. Currently, 60 Fellowships of $5,000 and 40 Awards of Excellence of $2,000 are awarded each year.

The selection process for the Phi Kappa Phi Fellowships and Awards of Excellence is based on the applicants’ undergraduate academic performance, leadership and service on the campus and in the community, evidence of graduate potential, personal statement of educational perspective, purpose and objectives, and the evaluation reports from three individuals who are in a position to attest to the student’s performance, citizenship and character.

Founded in 1897 and headquartered in Baton Rouge, La., Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society. Phi Kappa Phi inducts annually more than 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni. The Society has chapters on more than 300 select colleges and universities in North America and the Philippines. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and 7.5 percent of juniors. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify.

Since its founding, more than one million members have been initiated. Some of the organization’s more notable members include former President Jimmy Carter, Baylor University head women’s basketball coach Kim Mulkey-Robertson, writer John Grisham and Netscape founder James Barksdale. The Society has awarded approximately $12.7 million since the inception of its awards program in 1932. Today, more than $800,000 is awarded annually to qualifying members and non-members through Fellowships, undergraduate study abroad scholarships, Love of Learning awards, Emerging Scholar grants, member and chapter awards and grants for local and national literacy initiatives. The Society’s mission is “to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.”