Physics Honor Society Inducts New Members


Physics honor society croppedCAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., April 24, 2013 — The Department of Physics and Engineering Physics inducted eight new members into Sigma Pi Sigma, the national physics honor society, April 16 at Southeast Missouri State University.

Standing at left is induction guest speaker Nathan Burford. The inductees, standing to the left of Burford, are Tharaka Hawpe Gamage of Sri Lanka; Dakota Crisp of Golconda, Ill.; Caleb Courier of Walsh, Ill.; and Andrew Schneider of Florissant, Mo. Seated from left are Purva Thakre of India; Stephanie Howard of Jackson, Mo.; and LeighAnn Leyerle of Scott City, Mo. Not pictured is Cody Dawson of Marion, Ill.

Burford, the guest speaker, received dual Bachelor of Science degrees in both physics and engineering physics from Southeast in 2011. He was inducted into Sigma Pi Sigma the same year. He received a Master of Science in microelectronics-photonics from the University of Arkansas in 2013 and is currently pursuing his doctoral degree in the same program.  Burford’s presentation to the Sigma Pi Sigma inductees was titled, “Thoughts, Research, and Inspiration from a SEMO Physics Graduate.”

The Sigma Pi Sigma chapter at Southeast Missouri State University was chartered April 10, 1969, and has inducted 133 members since its beginning.  Many of the inductees are prominent scientists and engineers, including Dr. Linda Godwin, former NASA astronaut, who was inducted into Sigma Pi Sigma in 1974 and was the guest speaker at the 2013 induction.