Recipients of 2018 Provost’s Awards for Teaching Excellence Announced


Congratulations to the following recipients of the 2018 Provost’s Awards for Teaching Excellence. The winners will be recognized at an awards luncheon on Wednesday, May 9, and will be featured in a Teaching Excellence Showcase on the new Provost’s Office website this fall.

The awards recognize faculty who have demonstrated a commitment to exceptional teaching and student success. The awards identify highly effective teaching practice and are an opportunity to share these examples and insights with the Southeast community.

Excellence in the use of open educational resources (OER)
Dr. Courtney Kisat, assistant professor of history and secondary social studies education program coordinator

Excellence in the assessment of student learning
Dr. Kevin Dickson, interim chair of the Department of Management and Marketing, and professor of management

Excellence in supporting undergraduate research
Dr. Scott Brandhorst, instructor of psychology
Laura Delgado, instructor of psychology

Excellence in the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL)
Dr. Michelle Kilburn, associate professor of criminal justice 

Excellence in teaching UI100
Dr. Chris McGowan, retired dean of the College of Science, Technology and Agriculture

Excellence in supporting Learning Communities

Dr. Sharon Dees, assistant professor of early childhood education, coordinator of Southeast’s early childhood education undergraduate program and coordinator of the Tomorrow’s Teachers Freshman Learning Communities

Excellence in supporting freshmen retention
Michelle Contrino, instructor of theatre and dance

 Excellence in promoting engaged learning
Dr. Kirsten LaMantia, assistant professor of educational leadership and counseling, and counselor education training clinic coordinator

Excellence in promoting experiential learning
Laura Krieger-Sample, instructor of criminal justice and sociology

For more information about the Provost’s Awards for Teaching Excellence, visit