Regents Approve Faculty Promotions, Other Personnel Proposals, River Campus Plan Change



July 3, 2006 – The Southeast Missouri State University Board of Regents Wednesday granted post-professorial merit to six faculty members, promoted six to the rank of professor, made other personnel decisions, and authorized a change in the plan of the River Campus facilities now under construction.

The post-professorial increment is a voluntary additional step in the current promotion process approved by the Board of Regents in October 2002. Under the bill, faculty become eligible to apply for post-professorial merit five years after attaining the rank of full professor and every five years thereafter. Successful applicants meet the same criteria as that required for promotion to professor and follow the same process of peer and administrative review.Those granted Post-Professorial merit, effective with the 2006-2007 academic year, are:

  • James Dufek, Department of Communication
  • William Eddleman, Department of Biology
  • William Ellis, Department of Agriculture
  • James Ermatinger, Department of History
  • Gary Miller, Department of Music
  • Alice Strange, Department of Foreign Languages and Anthropology

In related action, the Board granted promotions to 22 faculty members during the same closed session meeting. Faculty members promoted to the rank of professor, effective with the 2006-2007 academic year are:

  • Jeremy Barnes, Department of Health, Human Performance, and Recreation
  • Shelba Branscum, Department of Human Environmental Studies
  • Robert Buchanan, Department of Educational Administration and Counseling
  • Robert Dillon, Department of Theatre and Dance
  • Steven Hoffman, Department of History
  • Carol Morrow, Department of Foreign Languages and Anthropology
  • Diane Primont, Department of Economics and Finance
  • Debrah Raschke, Department of English
  • Patricia Reagan, Department of Art
  • Kamayasamy Surendran, Department of Computer Science
  • H. Joseph Wen, Department of Accounting and Management Information Systems

Promoted to the rank of associate professor in the designated departments effective with the 2006-2007 academic year are:

  • Lisa Bertrand, Department of Educational Administration and Counseling
  • Kenneth Callis, Department of Psychology
  • Wai Yuen Chan, Department of Mathematics
  • Steven Hendricks, Department of Music
  • Frederick Jones, Department of Communication
  • Tahsin Khalid, Department of Elementary, Early and Special Education
  • Julieta Monteiro-Leitner, Department of Educational Administration and Counseling
  • Pradeep Singh, Department of Mathematics
  • Lucinda Swatzell, Department of Biology
  • Paul Watkins, Department of Educational Administration and Counseling
  • Xuesong Zhang, Department of Computer Science


Faced with the recent withdrawal of the Cape Girardeau Chamber of Commerce and Convention and Visitors Bureau (CVB) from original plans to locate a Missouri Affiliated Welcome Center on the west side of the new River Campus, the Board decided to proceed with construction of the space originally planned for the welcome center, at a cost estimated at $1.6 million.

Under the Board-approved plan, the addition will house restroom facilities required by building codes that will be shared by the new multi-purpose facility and the adjacent River Campus theatre complex and a flexible, multi-use space that will include a large meeting room, a smaller meeting room, and a catering area.

Scott Starling, River Campus project manager for the Jacobs architectural and engineering firm of St. Louis, told the Board that the shared restroom facilities must be built in order for the theatre complex to meet building code requirements. He also indicated that from a design standpoint, the curved west wall of the new facility needs to be built – either as a stand-alone feature or as part of an enclosed space. He said the estimated cost of the wall and restroom facilities alone would be about $600,000.

The alternative, he said, was to complete the originally planned building, either as an unfinished shell, at a total cost of almost $1.2 million, including restrooms, or to complete the building with all finish work, at the cost of just over $1.6 million. Since the cost of the unfinished shell option plus future additional costs for finishing the space would exceed $1.6 million, the Board chose the latter option. Funding for the addition will come from River Campus project contingency dollars and one-time University funds.

The University and City of Cape Girardeau originally requested a $1 million grant from the Missouri Department of Transportation (MODOT) to go toward construction of the welcome center, which would have been staffed by the CVB and Southeast students under the original plans. However, MODOT did not approve the grant and the City is exploring other location options for a welcome center and home for the CVB.


In additional personnel actions, the Board:

  • approved non-tenure track merit for Steven Byrd, Department of Management and Marketing; Jeanine Larson Dobbins, Department of Elementary, Early and Special Education; Joyce Renaud, Department of Communication Disorders; Scott Thorne, Department of Management and Marketing; and Roseanna Whitlow, Department of Communication.
  • authorized the continuation of the contract with Dr. Dale F. Nitzschke, former Southeast president, as the University’s federal legislative initiatives consultant until December 31, 2006, when the present session of Congress ends.  The contract will be for $60,000 plus expenses.  Dr. Nitzschke’s primary duty is to work with the Missouri Congressional delegation and their staff in southeast Missouri and Washington, DC.  Over the past five years, the Missouri Congressional delegation has provided over $38 million in Congressionally-directed funds.  Nitzschke’s present contract expires June 30, 2006.
  • authorized the President to negotiate a one-year extension of the University’s contract with Patek &Associates LLC of Jefferson City to provide state legislative consulting services at the continued rate of $60,000 annually.
  • approved the three-year resolution with the Teamsters bargaining unit covering the period July 1, 2006, through June 30, 2009.   The new agreement incorporates several changes to the last agreement with the Teamsters bargaining unit, includes a salary increase of approximately 3% for all covered employees for FY07, and contains a wage re-opener provision for each year of the resolution.