Regents Expand, Appoint New Directors to Missouri Innovation Corporation


CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., Dec. 19, 2014 – The Southeast Missouri State University Board of Regents today approved an amendment to the Missouri Innovation Corporation’s (MIC) bylaws to increase the number of directors to the MIC.

The Regents today expanded the number of directors to between nine and 15. The MIC Board of Directors currently has six members. Expanding the Board will help better represent the communities and businesses of Southeast Missouri, said Dr. Bill Eddleman, Southeast provost.

He said the Missouri Innovation Corporation is expanding its outreach to southeast Missouri through the work of the Institute for Innovation and Entrepreneurship. Expanding the Board will mirror expected growth in efforts to promote regional economic development through innovation and entrepreneurial activity promoting new business development, Eddleman said.

In related action, the Board of Regents today also approved the appointment of directors to the Missouri Innovation Corporation

The following have been appointed to a one-year term:

  • Brent Buerck, who has served as the city administrator in Perryville, Missouri, since 2009.
  • John Ferguson, who serves as the director of the Pemiscot County Port Authority in Caruthersville, Missouri.
  • Jim Grebing, who serves as the director of economic development for Kennett City Light Water and Gas.

The following have been appointed to a two-year term:

  • Tim Arbeiter, who has served as the vice president for community development for the Cape Girardeau Chamber of Commerce since 2006.
  • Jon Douglas, who has served as the city manager of Sikeston, Missouri, since 2013.

The following have been appointed to a three-year term:

  • Van Robinson, who has served as the chief executive officer for Citizens Electric Corporation since 2009.
  • Dana Thomas, who launched BOLD Marketing in 2008. Thomas is also an adjunct professor at William Woods University, a member of the Leadership Development Committee and March of Dimes Board, as well as the marketing chair for the United Way.