Regents Rename Area Higher Education Centers


Map of Southeast Missouri State University's Regional Campuses

This map shows the locations of the campuses of Southeast Missouri State University.


Oct. 26, 2006 – Three of Southeast Missouri State University’s area higher education centers were designated as regional campuses under a proposal adopted today by the Southeast Board of Regents.

The new campus designations are “Southeast Missouri State University – Malden,” “Southeast Missouri State University – Kennett,” and “Southeast Missouri State University – Sikeston.”  The University now teaches all undergraduate and graduate courses at those three centers south of Cape Girardeau.

At Malden, while the campus has a new name, the building housing University operations will continue to be called “The Harry L. Crisp Bootheel Education Center” in recognition of the 1987-88 gift of property by the Crisp family which led to the creation of the University’s first permanent off-campus education center.

In addition, the Board adopted a new name for the center at Perryville, where the teaching load is shared by Southeast and Mineral Area College. The new designation is “Perryville Higher Education Center.”

For several years, the University has enjoyed a partnership with the cities of Malden, Kennett, Sikeston and Perryville and their citizens which resulted in the creation and expansion of the educational facilities in those areas. 

According to Dr. Randy Shaw, assistant provost for Extended Learning and dean of the School of Polytechnic Studies, “The approval of the name changes reflects the fact that Southeast operates the centers and teaches all the college courses at the three campuses south of Cape Girardeau.  The campuses will continue to be an integral part of Southeast Missouri State University.” 

According to Shaw, “Enrollments continue to grow at the regional campuses, both in the number of students served and in the number of credit hours taken by the students.”

He says Southeast also is seeing significant growth in the number of students pursuing four-year degrees offered at the regional campuses.