Reverse Transfer Agreement Paves Way for Southeast Regional Campus Students to Receive AA Degree



June 28, 2010 – Southeast Missouri State University and Three Rivers Community College have entered into an agreement that will allow current and future students at Southeast’s regional campuses south of Cape Girardeau to transfer their credits to and earn an associate of arts (AA) degree from Three Rivers.

Under the reverse transfer agreement, Southeast students currently or previously enrolled in Southeast classes at its regional campuses in Kennett, Malden or Sikeston, Mo., may seek admission to and transfer up to 52 credit hours to Three Rivers towards completion of an associate of arts degree. Students may take courses at both institutions; Three Rivers will grant the degree, according to Kenneth W. Dobbins, president of Southeast Missouri State University.

Dobbins outlined the proposal to Southeast’s Board of Regents, which approved the agreement Tuesday. The agreement, now approved by both Southeast and Three Rivers, has been forwarded to Robert Stein, Missouri commissioner of higher education.

According to the agreement, students must complete a minimum of 12 credit hours at Three Rivers to be awarded the associate of arts degree, Dobbins said. The 12 credit hours may be taken at any Three Rivers location or online and do not have to be the last 12 credit hours of the degree program. The 12 credit hours must meet the requirements of the associate of arts degree as outlined in the Three Rivers catalog.

Students seeking the Three Rivers associate of arts degree must take Southeast courses that articulate with Three Rivers’ 42-credit hour general education program, two credit hours of “Lifetime Wellness” and 18 to 20 credit hours of electives selected with the help of a Southeast regional campus or Three Rivers advisor.

The agreement is an addendum to a Three Rivers proposal to offer an associate of arts degree at Three Rivers’ educational centers in Kennett, Malden and Sikeston.

“We believe this program is very important to our students who wish to receive an associate of arts degree,” Dobbins said. “This is a win-win situation for both Southeast and Three Rivers students.”

The three-year agreement begins with the fall 2010 semester and ends in summer 2013. The cooperative program will be reviewed at the end of each spring semester by the chief academic officer at both Southeast and Three Rivers to determine the program’s effectiveness. Each year, both institutions will jointly report to the commissioner of higher education the results of the agreement, any changes agreed upon by both institutions that need to be made or issues that need to be resolved. In the third year of the program, both institutions will report to the commissioner with their evaluation of the agreement and future plans for serving students in these areas.