Rogers-Adkinson Named College of Education Dean


by News Bureau on Monday, Mar. 12, 2012


CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., March 12, 2012 – Dr. Diana Rogers-Adkinson, chair of the Department of Special Education at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, has been named dean of the College of Education at Southeast Missouri State University.

Pending final Board of Regents’ approval, Rogers-Adkinson will begin her new duties at Southeast July 1. She replaces Dr. Tamela Randolph, who has been serving as interim dean.

“I would like to thank Tammy for her excellent work as interim dean,” said Dr. Ronald Rosati, Southeast provost. “We are very much looking forward to having Dr. Rogers-Adkinson join us in July. She is going to be a wonderful addition to the College. I encourage everyone to assist her during her transition here.”

The dean is the chief administrative officer and academic leader for the College of Education. The College comprises three departments: Educational Leadership and Counseling; Elementary, Early and Special Education; and Middle and Secondary Education. The College of Education has about 1,800 undergraduate majors and approximately 400 graduate students.

“Southeast Missouri State University has a strong history of leadership in teacher education as noted by past recognition of the Christa McAuliffe Award among other awards,” Rogers-Adkinson said. “The strength of the most recent NCATE accreditation speaks to the quality of the faculty, staff and programs in the College of Education.”

She says the community was very welcoming to her during her campus visit to Southeast.

“I hope to assist the college in addressing the state of Missouri’s new licensure standards and outcomes assessments,” she said. “I also hope to assist the College in furthering the integration of technology into and across the curriculum to ensure students can demonstrate 21st century skills.”

Through strategic planning, Rogers-Adkinson says she plans to create a shared vision of the role of the college in the region.

Rogers-Adkinson has served as chair of the Department of Special Education at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater since May 2006. During much of this time, she also served as director of University Learning Communities and facilitated their role in freshmen enrollment and campus visitation programs. While at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, she has been chair of the Handbook Group, coordinator of the Live and Learn Education Learning Community and coordinator of the Emotional Behavioral Disorders Program in the Department of Special Education. She has served as a professor in the Department since 2004, having previously served as an associate professor from 1999 to 2003 and being awarded tenure in 2001.

At the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, Rogers-Adkinson also has served on the Undergraduate Enrollment and Retention Services Committee; the Campus Communications Committee; Faculty Grievances and Appeals Committee; Institutional Review Board; Committee on First Year Student Programs and Concerns; the Faculty Appeals, Grievances and Disciplinary Hearings Committee; and the University Standards and Promotions Committee. She has been an athletics ambassador, a member of the University Conflict Resolution Team and a Residential Life Faculty Partner. Rogers-Adkinson has also served on numerous College of Education and Department committees.

She has received numerous honors, including the College of Education Service Award, the Residential Education Faculty Partner Award at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater and the You Make the Difference Award from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater Integrated Programming Team. She also has earned the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater W.P. Roseman Excellence in Teaching Award, the Audrey Z. McClelland Teacher of Distinction Award and the Outstanding Faculty Award from the Student Wisconsin Education Association at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater. She received the College of Education Research Award from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater and the Outstanding Young Alumni Circle of Achievement Award from Ball State University.

Prior to serving at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, Rogers-Adkinson was an assistant professor in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction at Wichita State University; a teaching fellow and part-time faculty member at Kent State University; a doctoral intern, Marriage and Family/Child Therapist at Portage Children’s Center in Ravenna, Ohio; a part-time faculty member at the University of Akron (Ohio); and a counselor intern at Beechbrook in Cleveland, Ohio.

She is currently president of DRA Educational Consulting and president of the Council for Children with Behavior Disorders. A teacher of moderate to severe disability conditions Rogers-Adkinson has an extensive publishing and presentation record. She has served on the Praxis Special Education: Teaching Students with Behavioral Disorders/Emotional Disorders National Advisory Committee for Educational Testing Services; and the International Council for Exceptional Children Program Advisory Committee. She is also a NCATE/CEC Accreditation Reviewer.