Seven Southeast Alumni to Receive Young Alumni Merit Award



April 9, 2009 – The Southeast Missouri State University Alumni Association has selected seven alumni to receive the University’s 2009 Young Alumni Merit Award.

The seven will be honored at a commencement luncheon at 12:15 p.m. May 16 in the Student Recreation Center and will be recognized during spring commencement exercises at 2 p.m. May 16 in the Show Me Center.

Alumni to receive the award and the college they represent are as follows:

Harrison College of Business• Jeanne Whitley ’98 of St. Louis, Mo., senior program manager with Maritz, Inc.

College of Education• Scott Mercer ’98 of Bernie, Mo., principal of Bernie High School • Dr. Travis Hux ’98 of Kansas City, Mo., assistant director of human resources for the Raytown (Mo.) C-2 School District

College of Health and Human Services• Edwin Blanton III ’00 of San Antonio, Texas, co-founder of Ready, Willing …Enable! Inc.   College of Liberal Arts• Rhett Hendrickson ’97 of Cape Girardeau, vice president of Hendrickson Business Advisors  School of Polytechnic Studies• Todd Marchi ’03, account  manager in southeast Missouri, southern Illinois and the St. Louis area, sales leader  for southwest Missouri area and director of marketing with Goedecke Co.   

College of Science and Mathematics• Dr. Richard Essner ’93 of Edwardsville, Ill., assistant professor at Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville.

The Young Alumni Merit Award is given annually to honor those alumni 37 years or younger who have brought distinction to the University through professional growth, service and individual character. The Alumni Association chooses from the list of nominees representing each college and selects the recipients. Nominations may come from faculty, staff or alumni.

Edwin Blanton III

Dr. Richard Essner

Dr. Travis Hux

Todd Marchi


Rhett Hendrickson

Jeanne Whitley

Scott Mercer