Sigma Phi Epsilon Alumni Board Announces Recipients of $3,500 in Scholarships


CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., Nov. 16, 2005ᾰThe alumni board of the Missouri Zeta chapter of Sigma Phi Epsilon at Southeast Missouri State University has announced undergraduate recipients of $3,500 in scholarships. 

The scholarships are funded through donations and monies raised through events hosted by the board each year. The recipients of the scholarships are selected by the board based on criteria including academic achievement and involvement in the chapter, the campus and the community.  Recipients also must embody the Balanced Man Principals the chapter strives to ingrain in each member. 

The scholarship funds are intended to cover educational and related expenses.  Additionally, the alumni scholarship program joins together the undergraduate membership with the extended network of Sigma Phi Epsilon alumni of Southeast through informal interaction and formal networking and mentoring.

The 2005 scholarship recipients are Andrew Smith, of St. Charles, Mo., who received the $300 New Member of the Year Award scholarship. Smith joined the chapter in fall 2004, is an active member on numerous intramural teams, currently serves on the chapter’s Programming Board, is a past member of the Development Board, has served as a chapter Interfraternity Council (IFC) delegate and earned a 4.0 grade point average for the spring 2005 semester.

Nathan Burch, of Imperial, Mo., received the $300 SigEp of the Year Award scholarship. Burch is a former vice president of programming and served as chapter president from November 2003 to November 2004.  He will complete his term as the Interfraternity Council president in December 2005.  Burch currently serves the chapter as the new member coordinator for the spring 2005 class and is a member of Order of Omega, a national Greek honor society.

Christopher Chaney of St. Louis, and Ryan Ahillen of Sappington, Mo., each received the $300 Alumni Recognition Awards. Chaney began serving as chapter president in April.  He previously served the chapter as a member of the Recruitment Board, as chaplain and as a Standards Board member. Ahillen served as chapter president from November 2004 to April.  He was vice president of recruitment, Balanced Man Scholarship chairman, senior marshal and member of the Chapter Recruitment Selection Committee.  Additionally, Ahillen was selected as Missouri Zeta Junior of the Year 2005 and has been inducted into the Order of Omega. He currently serves as the new member coordinator for the fall 2005 class.

Dustin Schnable, of High Ridge, Mo, received $2,300 as part of the Greg Eble Scholarship.  The scholarship is equivalent to the cost of incidental fees for a full semester.  Schnable currently serves the chapter as intramural coordinator, senior marshal, and as Interfraternity Council representative.  He serves as co-chair of the 2006 Greek Week Steering Committee, where he previously served as Special Olympics co-chair. Schnable is involved in Christian Campus Ministry and is a member of the Missouri Zeta chapter of Sigma Phi Epsilon.

For more information regarding the Missouri Zeta chapter of Sigma Phi Epsilon, visit: or for information about the national fraternity, visit: