Six to Receive Young Alumni Merit Award



May 3, 2010 – The Southeast Missouri State University Alumni Association has selected six alumni to receive the University’s 2010 Young Alumni Merit Award.

The six will be honored at a commencement luncheon at 12:15 p.m. May 15 in the Student Recreation Center-North and will be recognized during spring commencement exercises at 2 p.m. May 15 in the Show Me Center.

Alumni to receive the award and the college they represent are as follows:

Harrison College of Business• Jessica Kime ’00 of St. Louis, senior manager of the Audit Department at Deloitte and Touche

College of Education• Kamilla Riek ’97 of St. Louis, Mo., literacy coach in the Mehlville School District

College of Health and Human Services• Trenton Blair ’97 of Warrensburg, Mo., solution development leader, state government and higher education vertical markets, Johnson Controls, Inc.

College of Liberal Arts• Jason LeGrand ’97 of Washington, D.C., director of Major Gifts for the West Coast for the University of Maryland, College Park

School of Polytechnic Studies• Jason Landers ’97 of Sikeston, Mo., salesman for Helena Chemical Company

College of Science and Mathematics• Matthew Basch ’03 of St. Louis, Mo., environmental professional with Trileaf Corporation

The Young Merit Alumni Award is given annually to honor those alumni 37 years or younger who have brought distinction to the University through professional growth, service and individual character.  The Alumni Association chooses from the list of nominees representing each college and selects the recipients.  Nominations may come from faculty, staff or alumni.

Jason LeGrand

Kamilla Riek

Trenton Blair

 Jason Landers

Matthew Basch

 Jessica Kime