Southeast Faculty, Students to Receive President’s Volunteer Service Award


CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., April 20, 2005 ᾰ Four students and five faculty members at Southeast Missouri State University will receive the President’s Volunteer Service Award at the Annual Criminal Justice Honor’s Reception on May 13.

The event is scheduled for 3 p.m. in Crisp Hall Auditorium.

Speaker for the event will be attorney Al Spradling, a member of the Southeast Board of Regents and former mayor of Cape Girardeau.

The volunteer service award is an initiative of President Bush’s Council on Civic Participation, in conjunction with the Corporation for National & Community Service and the USA Freedom Corps.

Recipients must devote at least 100 hours per academic year toward community service. There are three awards, based on the number of hours completed: bronze (100-249); silver (250-499); and gold (500 or more).

The Southeast students receiving the award are: Julie Myers of Oak Ridge, Mo.; William Washington of Jennings, Mo.; Robert Simpson of Kansas City, Mo.; and Sarah Schaffer of  Durham, Mo.

Southeast faculty members receiving the award are Dr. Andrew Fulkerson, Dr. Mike Brown, Dr. Arrick Jackson, Linda Keena and Dr. John Wade, all of the Department of Criminal Justice and Sociology.

Jackson and Wade will receive the silver award. The other will receive the bronze award.

For more information, visit