Southeast Kappa Delta Pi Chapter to Attend Biennial Convocation



Oct. 31, 2003 – Southeast Missouri State University’s chapter of Kappa Delta Pi, a national honor society in education, will send a group of student representatives to the Kappa Delta Pi 44th Biennial Convocation Nov. 13-15 in St. Louis.

Those planning to attend include Wade Foskey of Anna, Ill.; Dana Nenniger of Marble Hill, Mo.; Stephanie Peddycoart of Charleston Mo.; Tara Menz of St. Louis; Amy Bernds of St. Louis; Emily Knowlton of Mascoutah, Ill., Helen Schmidt of Jackson, Mo.; Krista Hays of Clarkton, Mo.; Dr. Julie Ray and Dr. Kathleen Conway, both advisors to the group and Southeast assistant professors of elementary, early and special education; and Dr. Mary Ann DeLine, advisor to the group and assistant professor of middle and secondary education.

Once every two years, more than 1,200 of the nation’s top education students and educators convene for this professional-development experience. Kappa Delta Pi will sponsor more than 230 workshops that will address possible topics within the strands of the “Successful Teachers – Successful Schools” theme.  Convocation 2003 will feature two Laureate panel discussions, nationally recognized keynote speaker Alfie Kohn, featured speakers Alvin Law and Betsy Rogers, the 2003 National Teacher of the Year, and an author reception hosted by Scholastic Inc.