Southeast Mass Media Students Win Student Best of Show, Gold, Silver and Bronze Addy Awards



Feb. 23, 2009 – The award-winning talents of Southeast’s mass media advertising and radio students were demonstrated again this year at a regional advertising competition.

The ADDY Awards, a three-tier national competition, is conducted annually by the American Advertising Federation (AAF). The competition is the advertising industry’s largest and most prestigious competition for creative excellence.

Students in the University’s spring and fall 2008 Advertising Campaigns classes won Student Gold, Silver and Bronze ADDY awards, respectively, at the local Tri-State Advertising and Marketing Professionals 14th annual awards competition Feb. 20 in Cape Girardeau, Mo.  Students in the University’s spring 2008 Audio Production and Performance course, in collaboration with students at Southern Illinois University-Carbondale won a Student Bronze ADDY.  Southeast advertising students in the spring 2008 Advertising Campaigns class also took the competition’s sole Student Best of Show Award for the second year in a row. 

Gold ADDY Award winners are forwarded on to the District Level Student ADDY competition to be held April 24 in Dubuque, Iowa. 

Dr. Donald Jung, associate professor of mass media at Southeast, teaches the Advertising Campaigns course and Dr. Bruce Mims, professor of mass media, teaches the Radio Production course.

The Tri-State Advertising and Marketing Professionals, a member association of the American Advertising Federation, covers the Southeast Missouri, Southern Illinois and Western Kentucky region. 

Specifically, the spring 2008 semester Advertising Campaign students won a Gold ADDY for their “Simply Solar Greenhouses” campaign.  Michael Hazel of Caruthersville, Mo., and Christa Schmidt of St. Louis served as account managers; Ken Behrens of Cape Girardeau, Mako Ishida of Japan, and Nick Speno of St. Charles, Mo, creative; Joseph Burdess of Peoria, Ill, Toni Eftink of Cape Girardeau, and Andrew Horrell of Chaffee, Mo., media; Chelsea Keen of Ballwin, Mo., and Lindsey Kemp of Desloge, Mo., internet media; Kara Blasingame of Florissant, Mo., and Lauren Carter of Ballwin, Mo., research; and Jung, faculty advisor.  This project also won the competition’s sole Student Best of Show ADDY award.

Both sections of the fall 2008 Advertising Campaigns class also won ADDYs.  The campaign “Southeast Missouri State University Faultline Film Festival – A Series of Shocks” won a Student Silver ADDY.  Team members included Crystal Furlow of Senath, Mo., Katelyn Slattery of Collierville, Tenn., Josh Henry of Jefferson City, Mo., Leimomi Spink of St. Louis, and Shannon Muesenfechter of Florissant, Mo; and Jung, faculty advisor.  The campaign “Southeast Missouri State University Faultline Film Festival – Crack Open a World of Opportunity” won a Student Bronze ADDY.  Team members included Caleb Stewart of Lesterville, Mo., Edward Pruett of Union, Mo., Kelly Larock of Kennett, Mo., Angela Cicerelli of St. Charles, Mo., Clarkson Bates of St. Louis, Thomas Brotherton of Sappington, Mo., Amy Malpocker of O’Fallon, Mo., Kathleen Mayfield of Eureka, Mo., Andrew Middeke of Wentzville, Mo., Christine Schlueter of St. Louis and Kevin Tihen of St. Charles, Mo., and Jung, faculty advisor.

In the Radio category, students in Southeast’s spring 2008 Audio Production and Performance course won a Student Bronze ADDY for their “St. Jude” radio spot.  Southeast students worked in collaboration with students of former Southeast professor, Linda Correll, who is now at Southern Illinois University.  Southeast student recipients were A.J. McNamara of Imboden, Ark., Brandon Wrozier of Manchester, Mo., and Casey Hinkebein of Jackson, Mo.  Mims served as faculty advisor. 

This year, there were 25 student entries in 10 categories from college and university students in the Tri-State AMP coverage area.  Eight student ADDYs were awarded; one Gold, two Silver and five Bronze, in addition to the Student Best of Show ADDY award.