Southeast Music Students Excel at State, Regional Competitions


Students from Southeast Missouri State University’s Department of Music have enjoyed unprecedented success recently at state and regional competitions.

Seven vocal majors competed against more than 100 collegiate vocalists from four-year institutions at the regional meeting of the National Association of Teachers of Singing Oct. 29-30 at Central Missouri State University.  They included Erika Beasley of Cape Girardeau, Lindsey Chubboy of Jackson, Mo., Amanda Eades of Scott City, Mo., Rebekah Hunt of Antioch, Ill., Rachel Null of DeSoto, Mo., Lauren Sims of Springfield, Ill., and Justin Vandergriff of Jackson, Mo. 

Those advancing to the semifinal round included Beasley, Eades, Hunt, Sims and Vandergriff.  In final competition, Sims received third place in the Senior Women’s Division, and Vandergriff received Honorable Mention in the Freshman/Sophomore Division.

Southeast music professors of these students include Christopher Goeke, Leslie Jones, and Lori Shaffer. In addition, Southeast’s instrumental majors took home a majority of the top honors at the state convention of the Missouri Music Teachers Association Nov. 4-6 at Missouri Western State College in St. Joseph. Competing universities included Truman State, University of Missouri-Columbia, Central Missouri State University; Southwest Missouri State University and University of Missouri-Kansas City Conservatory.  Participating were Monica Smith of St. Charles, Mo., Thuy Ha of Cape Girardeau, Jessica Struckhoff of Marthasville, Mo., and Christina Van Nostrand of Cape Girardeau, flutists; Alicia Ballew of Park Hills, Mo., clarinet; Brad Long of St. Louis, saxophone; Ryan Bollinger of Jackson, Mo., piano; Robert Redmond of St. Louis, trumpet; Matt Palisch of Jackson, Mo., euphonium and organ; Jessie Reuter of Belleville, Ill., horn, Gabriel Deutsch of Jefferson City, Mo., and Akira Kanzawa of Cape Girardeau, guitar; John Mazar of Fenton, Mo., cello; Kyle Miller of Cape Girardeau, viola; and Tim Weddle of Jefferson City, Mo., bass. 

The competition yielded four state winners:  Bollinger, piano; Palisch, organ; Kanzawa, guitar; and Van Nostrand, flute.  Runners-up included Miller, viola; and Deutsch, guitar.  Honorable mention recognitions were awarded to Weddle, bass; Reuter, horn; and Long, saxophone, who competed in the national division.

Southeast music professors of these students include James Sifferman, Paul Thompson, Mark Fulgham, James Wehrman, Sara Edgerton, Gary Miller, Jeff Noonan, Michael Dean, Robert Conger and Brandon Christensen.