Southeast Regents Revise Faculty Merit Pay Policy


CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., Dec. 19, 2014 – Southeast Missouri State University’s Faculty Merit Pay Policy was revised today by the University’s Board of Regents to reflect changes in the faculty annual merit program for academic department chairs and faculty members.

The revised policy incorporates the administrative responsibilities of academic department chairs in the development of their annual performance criteria and allows for those responsibilities to be determined by department faculty with input from the dean and then forwarded to the provost for approval, said Dr. Bill Eddleman, Southeast provost. The updated policy also adds college deans in the evaluation process of department chairs, integrating their evaluation with the department’s evaluation with discrepancies being resolved by the provost.

In addition, the revised policy clarifies the annual faculty merit review process and allows faculty members who are not in agreement with their annual merit evaluation, to have that evaluation reviewed by the College Tenure and Promotion Advisory Committee, Eddleman said.

Today’s changes are a result of the Regents directing Southeast President Kenneth W. Dobbins in 2010 to review the Faculty Handbook and recommend changes to ensure the Faculty Handbook conforms to current Board policies and directives. In August of this year, the Board directed Dobbins to work with the Chairperson’s Forum, Faculty Senate and deans to evaluate and revise the department chair and faculty annual performance appraisal process.

In November, the Faculty Senate approved Bill 14-A-38. After the bill’s passage, the Faculty Senate Executive Committee, chair of the Faculty Senate Professional Affairs Committee, President Dobbins, Provost Eddleman and Vice Provost Charles McAllister collaborated to improve the review process, and Faculty Senate unanimously approved the revisions at their Dec. 10, 2014, meeting.