Southeast Students Earn 30 Awards at Phi Beta Lambda State Leadership Conference


Continuing a tradition of outstanding performance, Southeast Missouri State University students won 30 awards in 24 individual and team events at the State Leadership Conference of Phi Beta Lambda April 6-7 at Ozark Technical College in Springfield, Missouri.

Southeast members of the Zeta Alpha Lambda chapter of Future Business Leaders of America-Phi Beta Lambda (FBLA-PBL) garnered 10 first-place, five second-place, five third-place, three fourth-place, and three fifth-place finishes. Twelve of the students placed high enough to automatically qualify to attend and compete at the National Leadership Conference in Baltimore, Maryland, June 23-26.

Southeast had 17 students participate in this year’s conference and competition.

The conference provided students with an opportunity to hear presentations on leadership, network and run for state leadership positions and participate in competitive events. Representatives from 21 chapters across Missouri participated in the business-oriented competitive event portion of the program.

Dylan Kennedy of Catron, Missouri, was recognized for completing the president level of the Career and Membership Achievement Program (CMAP). The CMAP is a comprehensive membership recognition program encompassing PBL projects, goals and programs with special emphasis on career development and preparation for the world of work. Members work independently through three integrated levels of the CMAP: director, executive and president.

The Southeast chapter was awarded first place for the Local Chapter Annual Business Report. The annual report was prepared and submitted by Rebecca Ott of Wentzville, Missouri; Nicole Bauman of Ste. Genevieve, Missouri; Kylee Stevenson of Cape Girardeau, Missouri; and Kennedy. Known as the Hamden L. Forkner Award, this honor recognizes chapters that effectively summarize their year’s activities. The event provides participants with valuable experience in preparing business reports.

The chapter also received the Gold Seal Chapter Award of Merit, known as the Hollis and Kitty Guy Award, which recognizes outstanding local chapters that have actively participated in projects and programs identified with the goals of FBLA-PBL. Missouri only has two Gold Seal Chapters each year.

During the conference, students were allowed to run for state leadership positions. Allison Karleskint of Jackson, Missouri, will join the incoming 2018-2019 state officer team as parliamentarian, Southeast students have held state office positions for nine consecutive years.

Results of Southeast students at this year’s state leadership conference are as follows:

First Place:

  •     Accounting Principles
    • Kylie Collins of Gallatin, Missouri
  • Business Ethics
    • Sam Eby of St. Peters, Missouri
    • Halley Olveda of Cave In Rock, Illinois
    • Laci Zeidler of Pickneyville, Illinois
  • Computer Applications
    • Mallory Westerman of Chester, Illinois
  • Desktop Publishing
    • Nicole Bauman
    • Rebecca Ott
  • Financial Concepts
    • Kristi Brucker of Oran, Missouri
  • Integrated Marketing Campaign
    • Nicole Bauman
    • Rebecca Ott
    • Skyler Ring of Ste. Genevieve, Missouri
  • Personal Finance
    • Kristi Brucker
  • Public Speaking
    • Dylan Kennedy
  • Sales Presentation
    • Laci Zeidler

Second Place:

  • Accounting for Professionals
    • Kylie Collins
  • Cost Accounting
    • Kylie Collins
  • Help Desk
    • Alicia Merry of St. Charles, Missouri
  • Personal Finance
    • Halley Olveda
  • Statistical Analysis
    • Allison Karleskint

Third Place:

  • Accounting for Professionals
    • Halley Olveda
  • Computer Applications
    • Allison Karleskint
  • Hospitality Management
    • Alicia Merry
  • Job Interview
    • Rebecca Ott
  • Management Concepts
    • Sam Eby

Fourth Place:

  • Business Presentation
    • Jonathan Mungle of Scott City, Missouri
  • Emerging Business Issues
    • Dylan Kennedy
  • Microeconomics
    • Skyler Ring

Fifth Place:

  • Accounting for Professionals
    • Mallory Westerman
  • Entrepreneurship
    • Caleb Koehler of Jackson, Missouri
  • Retail Management
    • Kylee Stevenson


  • Rachel Scott of West Palm Beach, Florida

Photo Caption: Front row from left to right are Dylan Kennedy, Sam Eby, Skyler Ring, Caleb Koehler and Jonathan Mungle. Back row, from left to right are Rebecca Ott, Alicia Merry, Nicole Bauman, Kylee Stevenson, Allison Karleskint, Kyllie Collins and Halley Olveda.