Southeast to Host 31st Annual Math Field Day



April 14, 2008 – Students from 29 area junior and senior high schools will compete in the 31st annual Math Field Day April 22 at Southeast Missouri State University.

Southeast’s Department of Mathematics and the Southeast Missouri Council of Teachers of Mathematics sponsor Math Field Day. The day’s events begin at 9 a.m. in Academic Auditorium and conclude with an awards ceremony at 1:45 p.m. Team events will begin at 10 a.m. in Academic Auditorium. Individual testing will be held from 10:35 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. in Glenn Auditorium, located in Robert A. Dempster Hall.

At 12:30 p.m. in the University Center Ballroom, students will engage in a problem-solving event called MATHLETICS.

Individual and team events will challenge about 682 students in a multitude of areas, including algebra I, algebra II, geometry, trigonometry, word problems, history of mathematics, sets and logic, exponential and log functions, matrices and determinants, computational mathematics, elementary data analysis, probability, mental arithmetic, non-routine problem solving, analytic geometry, number bases, number theory, hand calculators and calculus.

Area schools competing in this year’s competition include: Bell City High R-II School; Bernie R-XIII; Campbell R-II School; Cobden High School; Delta R-V High School; Eagle Ridge Christian School; Leopold School District R-III; Marquand-Zion R-VI High School; Oak Ridge R-VI High School; Oran High School; Puxico High School; Risco High School; Saxony Lutheran School; Scott City R-I High School; Scott County R-IV (Kelly); South Pemiscot High School; Southern Reynolds County R-II; Valley R-VI School District; Viburnum C-4; Anna-Jonesboro High School; Cape Central High School; Dexter High School; Farmington Senior High School; Fredericktown R-I High School; Herrin High School; North St. Francois County R-I High School; Notre Dame Regional High School; and Ste. Genevieve High School; and Sikeston High School.

For more information about Math Field Day, contact Cheryl McAllister, chair of the Math Field Day Committee, at (573) 651-2778, by e-mail at or visit