Southeast’s Department of Mass Media Receives Reaccreditation


2007_Loc_Grauel-001-MCAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., May 9, 2013 – The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC) approved full reaccreditation for Southeast Missouri State University’s Department of Mass Media at the council’s meeting on May 3 in Phoenix, Ariz. Southeast’s mass communication program first received ACEJMC accreditation in 2005.

Accrediting Committee Chair Will Norton, dean of the Meeks School of Mass Communications at the University of Mississippi, commended Southeast’s faculty for willingness to work together, its diligent work on curriculum reform and the efforts of the departmental leadership for the achievement. Southeast was one of six schools of the 18 under consideration to receive a unanimous endorsement. “We had unanimous support throughout the process and the support came from some of the top media professionals and academics in the nation,” said Jack Zibluk, professor and chair of the Department of Mass Media. “The accreditation process, which is voluntary, provides oversight and quality control in areas such as curriculum, facilities and the qualifications of faculty and staff. Getting accreditation proves we’re doing almost everything right and students are getting a maximum value for their tuition,” Zibluk said.

Southeast’s Department of Mass Media is one of only two accredited programs in the state, the other being the University of Missouri – Columbia. “It’s a real distinction,” Zibluk added. “It really puts us on the map.”

The department will undergo reaccreditation in the 2016-2017 academic year.