Southeast’s Student Government to Host Daylong Celebration for Past Members



Feb. 10, 2006 – Southeast Missouri State University’s Student Government will host a “60 Years of Leadership” celebration for its past members at 3 p.m. Feb. 25.

“For the first time, we are welcoming back all of the members from the past 60 years that we’ve been able to locate,” said Adam Hanna, president of Southeast Student Government.

The daylong celebration will provide several activities for past Student Government members, including a welcome reception in the University Center in which Southeast President Kenneth W. Dobbins will participate, a campus tour by shuttle, a pre-game soup and sandwich dinner, and a chance to watch the men’s basketball game versus Jacksonville State at the Show Me Center.

Southeast’s Student Government has been in existence since the spring of 1946, when students at the college now known as Southeast Missouri State University presented a petition to President W. W. Parker requesting the formation of a student government association.  A constitution was drafted under the guidance of Dean Forrest H. Rose and H.O. Grauel.  Sixty years later, the organization has grown from 16 students and a nonexistent treasury to nearly 40 members who manage an annual budget of nearly $250,000.

“Since Student Government has made such an impact on academic and student life at Southeast, we find it fitting to celebrate 60 years of service,” Hanna said.

For more information on the “60 Years of Leadership” celebration or to RSVP to this event, contact Dale Chronister at (573) 651-2896 or