Sport Management Endowed Scholarship Established at Southeast


health human performance and recreation 2CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., May 26, 2015 – The Sport Management Endowed Scholarship has been established through the Southeast Missouri University Foundation.

Proceeds totaling $12,000 from the annual Sports Management Fund Run and the SEMO Golf Classic, both organized through the Department of Health, Human Performance and Recreation’s SM360 Spring Event Management course, were used to establish the scholarship.

The recipient of the renewable Sport Management Endowed Scholarship will be a student enrolled at Southeast Missouri State University who meets the qualifications for admission to the Bachelor of Science in sport management program as listed in the Undergraduate Bulletin with a minimum 3.5 grade point average. The Department of Health, Human Performance and Recreation Scholarship Committee will select the recipient.

The Sport Management Fund Run was jointly established by Dr. Beth Easter and her students for the dual purpose of providing sport management students at Southeast practical experience in planning and staging a sporting event and to benefit the Sport Management Major Scholarship Fund. During the spring semester of 2005, students in Easter’s Fundamentals of Sport Delivery Systems developed a plan to improve awareness of the sport management major through a student organized promotional event. At the conclusion of the course, students identified the best plan, choosing a 5K race. David Bommarito, Nikki Clayton, Joe Hussman and Mike Durbin were recognized and thanked for their work along with their classmates: Cody Bova, Stephen Carter, Brian Correnti, Josh Hoehn, Brandon Isaccs, Heidi Jett, Andrew Lambert, Brent Lewis, Seth McDowell, Eric Peggs, Michael Roslen, David Schmelig and Tyler Wagner.

During the fall 2005, semester students in the Sporting Event Management Course planned and staged the first annual Sport Management Fund Run. These students laid the foundation for all subsequent students in the Bachelor of Science in sport management program. Their hard work and creativity continues to be a model for students in the Sporting Event Management class. They include: Tunde Aboke, Brad Arnold, Matt Bosen, Ali Chesnut, Matt Ciolek, Nikki Clayton, Michael Colon, Dan Dial, Jonathan Dooley, Bobby Franklin, Richard Hanneken, Heather Hippard, Kristen Howard, Andrew Lambert, Chris Linnertz, Jordan Payne, Michael Roslen, Tiffanne Ryan, Sherri Sanders, Nathaniel Saverino, Derek Stickling, Melinda Trankle, Tyler Wagner and Matthew Worthington.

Dr. K. T. Kim and his students developed the first SEMO Golf Classic as the spring semester event in 2013. This annual event was hosted by the SM 360 class that included: Scott Haggerty, Shawn Heuring, Adam Bierderman, Kevin Scanlon, Jerel Bobbitt, Jessica Seyller, Charles Bohannon, Dustin Wilder, Dillan Doza, Remond Willis, Fallon English, Taylor Masterson, Joshua Hall, Eric Martin, Cheyenne Henderson and Tyler Peoples.

The scholarship continues to be funded through the fall Sport Management 5K Fund Run and the spring SEMO Golf Classic events planned and hosted by students in the sporting event management course.