Students Advance to Missouri Academy of Sciences State Competition


by News Bureau on Monday, Mar. 12, 2012

CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., March 12, 2012 – Several area junior high and high school students participating in the 56th Annual Southeast Missouri Regional Science Fair at Southeast Missouri State University last week went one step further, using their data to write a paper and make an oral presentation for the Missouri Junior Academy of Sciences district competition held in conjunction with the Science Fair.

“They are to be commended for taking the initiative to participate in this competition,” said Christine Aide, instructor of geosciences at Southeast.

Seven students received a highly superior first place rating, allowing them to represent this region and advance to the state level at the Missouri Academy of Sciences annual meeting in Columbia, Mo. Advancing from the Junior High Division are Austin Dirnberger, Lindsey Harrell and Hannah Seyer of St. Ambrose School in Chaffee, Mo.; and Lydia Reitzel and Jamie Hodges of Delta R-V. Advancing from the Senior High Division are Kelly Barns of St. Clair High School and Victoria Willcut of Puxico High School.

Also participating in the Missouri Junior Academy of Sciences district competition were:

From Delta R-V Junior High School: Cheyenne Blue, Katie Nance, Kelly Bollinger, Austin Wilfong, Aaron Hampton, Erin Bond, Kaitlyn Shallow, Destin Carroll, Bryan Schoen, Loren Childers, Cherish Roberts, Jenna Henson, Kaycee Hamby, Brittany Williams, Justin Lawson, Dillon Eaker, Kelsi Kinder, Kyara Smith, Emma Self, Austin White, Levi Kirkpatrick and Justin Hotwagner.

From St. Ambrose School: Madison Chapman, Andee Charleston, Hannah Glueck, Andrew Jobe, August Knutson, Lindsey Koch, Lindsey LeGrand, Brennan Miller, Amber Vandeven and Rylie Vandeven.

From St. Clair High School: Samantha Selby.

From Delta High School: Dakota Huffman, David Hess and Jeremy Perry.