Three Southeast Students Selected as 2007 Phi Kappa Phi Emerging Scholars


Photo of Academic Hall

Three Southeast Missouri State University students have each been awarded a $250 Emerging Scholar Award by The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi.

CAPE GIRARDEAU, Sept. 7, 2007 — Three Southeast Missouri State University students have each been awarded a $250 Emerging Scholar Award by The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi.

The recipients are Rachel Elizabeth Huebel, of Cape Girardeau, Amy Nickless of Festus, Mo., and Sarah Snyder of Swansea, Ill. They are among the first 60 recipients nationwide to receive such an award.

Huebel is a sophomore majoring in pre-physical therapy and Spanish. She is the daughter of Randy and Kaye Huebel. Nickless is a sophomore majoring in secondary education focusing on social studies. She is the daughter of Cloyd and Yvonne Nickless. Snyder is a sophomore majoring in social studies education. She is the daughter of Mark and Carol Snyder.

“This new award represents Phi Kappa Phi’s continuing effort to be responsive to the needs of our membership, and to the changing conditions of American higher education,” said Society Past President Dr. Paul Ferlazzo, who, during his term as Society president, aidedin establishing the new award program.

The Phi Kappa Phi Emerging Scholar Award program was initiated in 2007 to recognize outstanding rising sophomores studying at Phi Kappa Phi member institutions. Recipients must have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.75 on a 4.0 scale and have a minimum of 30 semester hours of academic credit.

Founded in 1897 and headquartered in Baton Rouge, La., Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society. Phi Kappa Phi inducts annually more than 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni. The Society has chapters on 300 select colleges and universities in North America and the Philippines. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and 7.5 percent of juniors. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify.

Since its founding, more than one million members have been initiated. Some of the organization’s more notable members include former President Jimmy Carter, NASA astronaut Wendy Lawrence, writer John Grisham and Netscape founder James Barksdale. The Society hasawarded approximately $12.7 million since the inception of its awards program in 1932. Today, more than $700,000 is awarded annually to qualifying members and non-members through graduate fellowships, undergraduate study abroad scholarships, member and chapter awardsand grants for local and national literacy initiatives.

The Society’s mission is “to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.”

For more information on Phi Kappa Phi, please call 800/804-9880 or visit

Photo of Amy Nickless    Amy Nickless   Rachel Huebel