U.S. Politics, History Expert to Highlight Southeast’s Constitution Day


A U.S. politics and history expert will speak at Southeast Missouri State University Sept. 19, commemorating Constitution Day.

Dr. Dave Robertson, University of Missouri Curators Teaching Professor and chair of the Department of Political Science at the University of Missouri-St. Louis (UMSL), will present “The Original Compromise: The U.S. Constitution.” The event is scheduled during the Common Hour from noon to 1:30 p.m. in Glenn Auditorium of Dempster Hall and is free and open to the public.

Robertson’s expertise and research focuses on American institutions and politics; political history; American social and economic policy; the U.S. Constitution; environmental history, policy and politics; labor politics; policy analysis; and Missouri politics.

He has received the Governor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, UMSL Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, and Emerson Electric Awards for Teaching Excellence. He is a political analyst for KSDK-TV, an NBC television affiliate in St. Louis, Missouri, and is frequently quoted in television, radio and print media, including “The Rolling Stone.”

He is the author of several books, including “Federalism and the Making of America,” “The Original Compromise: What the Framers were Really Thinking” and “The Constitution and America’s Destiny, Capital, Labor, and State: The Battle of American Labor Markets from the Civil War to the New Deal.” He is co-author of “The Development of American Public Policy: The Structure of Policy Restraint.” Robertson is also editor of “Loss of Confidence: Politics and Policy in the 1970s” and “Perspectives on American Government: Readings in Political Development and Institutional Change.” He is associate editor of the Journal of Policy History.

Robertson holds a doctoral degree in political science from Indiana University-Bloomington and his undergraduate degree from the University of Wisconsin.

Southeast’s Constitution Day is sponsored by the Department of Political Science, Philosophy, and Religion, and the Law, Politics, and Society Club.