University Announces Winners of District Vocational Agriculture FFA Contests



April 16, 2007 – Winners of the annual District Vocational Agriculture and Future Farmers of America (FFA) Judging contests March 30-31 have been announced.

The contest attracted 574 students from 30 area schools who competed in 15 agricultural skills Career Development Events (CDE) or contests. The students competed as part of 153 teams at several sites, including Southeast Missouri State University, the University Farm, local high schools and area cooperating farms, and with regional landowners. About 100 students also  competed in seven leadership skills contests, including speaking, parliamentary procedure and FFA knowledge events.

Southeast’s Department of Agriculture and the Southeast District Missouri Vocational Agriculture Teachers Association coordinated this year’s contests.

In addition, 187 participants on 52 teams competed in four agricultural skills contests April 3 at Dexter, Mo.

Dr. Michael Aide, chair of the Southeast Department of Agriculture, says students participating use problem-solving, analytical and evaluation skills while competing.

The top teams or individuals from each contest have advanced to the State FFA Convention April 19-20.

Fredericktown, Mo., won this year’s sweepstakes award for Area 15, and Couch, Mo., won the sweepstakes award for Area 16, Aide said. A sweepstakes award is given in each of the two areas that comprise the Southeast District, he said. Plaques, sponsored by Progressive Farm Credit Services, are awarded to the winners. Schools or chapters win this award by earning points for their placings in each of the contests. The high-point school wins, he said.

Winners are as follows:


Top Teams by Chapter

Ag Mechanics

Twin RiversFredericktownJacksonAltonPerryvilleSte. GenevieveMeadow HeightsDoniphan (Alternate)

Ag Sales

JacksonCouchWoodlandFredericktown (Alternate)


FredericktownBernieDexterPerryvilleBloomfieldAltonCampbellSte. GenevieveSenath-HornersvilleNeelyville (Alternate)

Dairy Cattle

Meadow HeightsJacksonFredericktownCouchPuxicoSte. GenevieveKelly-Benton (Alternate)

Dairy Foods

CouchSouthlandCharleston-DanforthFredericktownBerniePerryvilleSikeston AVTS (Alternate)


East PrairieJacksonAltonSouthlandCharleston-DanforthFredericktownSikeston AVTS (Alternate)

Farm Management

East PrairieFredericktownJacksonCouchPuxicoBernie (Alternate)


PerryvilleFredericktownCouchEast PrairieSikeston AVTS DeltaBloomfield (Alternate)


PerryvilleSte. GenevieveJacksonFredericktown (Alternate)

Horse Evaluation

Meadow HeightsFredericktownPerryvilleBloomfieldCouchFarmington (Alternate)


FarmingtonTwin RiversKelly-BentonHolcombPerryvilleAdvanceSte. GenevieveFredericktownBloomfield (Alternate)


Twin RiversJacksonMeadow HeightsFredericktownBloomfieldAlton (Alternate)


Twin RiversFredericktownPerryvilleWoodlandEast Prairie (Alternate)


NeelyvilleSikeston AVTSJacksonFredericktownPuxicoBernieCampbell                   Oran (Alternate)


East PrairieCharleston-DanforthJacksonTwin RiversCampbellCouchPerryvilleFredericktown (Alternate)

FFA Knowledge

Kelly-BentonHolcombPerryvilleJacksonCouchDoniphanFredericktownSouthland (Alternate)

Creed Speaking

Michelle Johnson (Couch)Mallory Cowget (Kelly-Benton)Travis Kinneman (Fredericktown) -Alternate

Extemporaneous Public Speaking

Catherine Presson (Charleston)Jacob Alexander (Alton)Kim Miesner (Perryville) – Alternate

Prepared Public Speaking Division I 

Bethany Hovis (Fredericktown)Logan McGhee (Couch)Dennis Kincaid (Farmington) – Alternate

Prepared Public Speaking Division II

Colby Siebert (Jackson)Katie Lamb (Fredericktown)Amy Holloway (Richland) – Alternate

Prepared Public Speaking Advanced

Brittney Allen (East Prairie)Doug Melton (Couch)Katie Patterson (Advance) – Alternate

Parliamentary  Procedure

FarmingtonChair: Renee Hinkebein

  1. Jenny Baird
  2. Sara Resinger
  3. Lindsey Herbst
  4. Dennis Kinkead
  5. McKinley Worley

Alternate: Sarah Womack    CouchChair: Anthony Sorrell

  1. Tara Combs
  2. Amber Johnson
  3. Lorra Wicker
  4. Arby McGhee
  5. Sam Shaw

Alternate:  Sadee Risner   ALTERNATEFredericktown Chair:  Travis Kinneman

  1. Cortney Stephens
  2. Rachel Royer
  3. Travis Lamb
  4. Lucas Raith
  5. Donnie Guinn
  6. no name