University Honors 120 Faculty and Staff With Service Awards


For the first time in history, Southeast Missouri State University awarded 45-year service pins to three individuals at the annual Employee Recognition ceremony on Sunday.  Those who received the specially designed service pin were Richard Francis, professor of Mathematics; Robert Hamblin, professor of English; and Dean Monahan, associate professor of English. These individuals began their careers when Southeast was still a Teachers College and when the enrollment was less than 6,500.  In Fall 2010, enrollment is expected to exceed 11,000  students – a 70 percent increase.

The University recognized a total of 120 faculty and staff members who have worked at the University a combined total of 2,145 years.

In remarks to the attendees, Kenneth W. Dobbins, president of the University, thanked the honorees for the value of the experience they bring to the institution.

“You represent the heart of Southeast Missouri State University. You give the institution its continuity and stability. You are a true cross section of what makes this institution great.”

Download the list of service award recipients