Vargas Presents Six Southeast Shout-Out Awards


Robert Fisher and President Carlos Vargas, right.

Southeast President Carlos Vargas recently presented six Southeast Shout-Out Awards.

Congratulations to Robert Fisher, a transit driver for the Department of Public Safety; Michael King, program technician with Continuing Education; Christy Mershon, assistant director of Continuing Education; Dr. Christina Ragain, professor of chemistry; Kirk Sandfort, transit supervisor for the Department of Public Safety; and Elizabeth Uelsmann, instructor of agriculture.

Michael King and President Carlos Vargas.

Donald Tompkins, operations manager for RC’s Jubliee Truckingand Transportation of Victoria, Texas, nominated Fisher, King, Mershon, Ragain, Sandfort and Uelsmann for their actions in assisting with the challenging and time-sensitive Hurricane Harvey disaster recovery in Tivoli, Texas. The award recipients were instrumental in gathering and delivering critical supplies to the community within 48 hours after the disaster.

Fisher donated items and helped load and deliver the supplies.

Christy Mershon and President Carlos Vargas.

King secured donations and helped load and deliver the supplies. He also photographed the arrival and unloading of the supplies.

Mershon was also nominated for her assistance in disaster recovery by Dr. Debbie Lee-DiStefano and Kirk Sandfort. Mershon organized the donation program, coordinated the social media messaging and assisted in the delivery of the supplies.

Ragain organized efforts of Southeast’s Chemistry Club, Pre-Dental Club and Alpha Chi Sigma Professional Chemistry Fraternity to secure donations.

Christina Ragain and President Carlos Vargas.

Sandfort was also nominated for his assistance in disaster recovery by Julie Grueneberg. Sandfort organized University faculty and staff to collect critical supplies. He also led the effort to secure transportation, paid for fuel and delivered the supplies.

Uelsmann provided trucks for transporting the supplies and helped pay for fuel.

Southeast Shout-Out awards celebrate University employees who put forth the extra effort to help, challenge and inspire students, and do whatever it takes to get the job done while encouraging others.

Kirk Sandfort and President Carlos Vargas.

You can nominate a deserving faculty or staff member you’ve spotted going above and beyond supporting our students at





Elizabeth Uelsmann and President Carlos Vargas.