Winners Announced of Young Composers Project


CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., May 21, 2010 — The Southeast Missouri Music Academy has announced the winners of its 2010 Young Composers Project. 

The winner in the senior high division was Taylor Renfroe of Sikeston, Mo. Winners in the junior high division were Vikas Rudrappa (first place) and Carlee Criddle (second place), both of Cape Girardeau; winners in the elementary division are Nia Johnson (first place) of Cape Girardeau and Jessica Kempe (second place) of Sikeston. Winners in the primary division were Abby Miller (first place) of Jackson, and Colton Jones (second place) of Kelso. The students are participants in the Academy’s Musicianship Classes, taught by Sherrie Troxel and Maria Mizicko.  The original musical compositions are the result of their studies in private lessons, music theory, history, and various musical styles, and are written for a variety of mediums including piano, voice, guitar and flute.    “The Young Composers Project is my favorite part of the Music Academy,” said Rebecca Fulgham, Academy director.  “It showcases our students’ creativity by providing an opportunity for them to build something original from just a musical idea, to writing the composition, to performing the completed work.  The most amazing thing is that, most often, the students’ pieces are too difficult for them to play themselves, so the teachers perform their creations for them.”

From left are Jessica Kempe, Abby Miller,Colton Jones and Vikas Rudrappa.